Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
I found this recipe after a friend mentioned trying mango bread and how great it was. I thought it was ok at first but FANTASTIC the second day after the flavors had really melded together. It was so fruity and nutty, a really great bread. The mango keeps the bread moist. I put a little coconut on top which browned nicely for presentation. I will probably make this for neighbors and friends at church instead of other quick breads for Christmas this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
The bread was great, but instead of raisins (which I hate) i added chocolate chips and a litte more mango
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Wow was this delicious, followed the recipe exactly and cakes came out super moist and no problem with rising. Thanks for a great recipe, will be making this one again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
I'm a mango fanatic and I was quite satisfied with this mango bread. Granted, it didn't have much mango flavor, thus I'd suggest adding a small amount of pureed mango to the batter. Dried cranberries make a nice raisin substitution for a more tart bread, but the sweetness of the raisins compliment the mango nicely (if using mangos that are still a bit tart, which I recommend). I also used 1 c chopped walnuts for a nuttier bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
This is delicious! Reminds me a lot of fruit breads I ate while in Maui last year. I made this and took one of the loaves into work; the entire loaf was devoured in less than an hour, and I was besieged with requests for the recipe. I omitted nuts and raisins because of picky eaters at my house, and increased the amount of coconut to 1 cup. Be sure to follow the recipe's directions; beat the shortening/sugar/egg mixture until light, not just until it's mixed, and allow the batter to rest for the 20 minutes specified in the recipe. Thank you for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
Ooohhh this was soo good! My sister and I made it for my mom and she loved it. The only thing missing, she said, were the nuts (we ran out at home). I will definitely make this one again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Very good. I used craisins instead of raisins (bc I didn't have any). I think this substitution made it better, gave it a tangy zip. Husband and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I tried this recipe despite the latest poor rating and thought it was EXCELLENT, a flavor like no other. I followed the recipe exactly and am so glad I tried it. The previous rater must have not followed the recipe or did not know what they were doing, this bread is so moist...THANK YOU!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
Mangoes are too expensive in my area to waste on this recipe. It just didn't bring out the wonderful flavor of mango; dull, dull, dull. Surprisingly, the loaves were dryer than expected. (I couldn't stomach eating the last bit of the 2nd loaf and threw it away.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
This is such a good recipe for when you want a change of pace from the typical quick breads (banana, cranberry, etc). It is easily adaptable to whatever fruit you have on hand, and it freezes well, too. I made mini-loaves - we ate the first loaf and I froze the others. It was really convenient to just pull out a couple little loaves when we had overnight guests (no-fuss breakfast!), and they loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States