Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by JAIPO
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I followed this recipe EXACTLY... but it turned out really wet. I did not enjoy this recipe and will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
sooo good. i will definitely make this again, when i have lots of mangoes that need to be eaten before they spoil! i halved the sugar, and only used 1/4C oil and 1/4C butter, and it still turned out yummy, moist & sweet. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Very good bread, but I agree the mango flavor is quite mild. Made only one loaf since the 2 over-ripe mangoes I had were on the smallish side. Cut back a bit on the sugar as well as replaced the butter/oil with yogurt/applesauce. Omitted the walnuts and raisins (personal preference), but added a squeeze of lime. The bread is super-moist and tastes oh-so tropical with a dollop of lime curd (made from 'Perfect Lemon Curd'). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This is a very good bread...however, it was too moist...probably my fault...added too much mango. I added raisins and craisins, and slivered almonds (no walnuts). With the exception of the moistness, I have nothing bad to say about this bread. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This tasted delicious! I substituted the butter for applesauce and addded vinegar (no lemon juice on hand!) for the baking powder to work. Thus, I didn't have a problem with it rising. My mangoes were actually tart so the sugar called for was fine; otherwise you may want to halve it. The other reviewers were right - this did not taste that great the first day. But by the next day, it was amazing! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Laura i love the mango bread. it's so good. ~Alex Guy~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Moist and amazing. I used rice flour and spelt flour instead of wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Great recipe! I had some frozen mango that I needed to do something with and this worked perfectly. I ran out of raisins at the last minute, so I ended up using half raisins, half chopped dried apricots, and I didn't have cinnamon, so I used a dollop of apple cinnamon jelly and it still turned out great. Can't wait to try this with REAL cinnamon. I'm sure it'll be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
The mangos in Hawaii are falling from the trees in abundance. I discovered this recipe and have baked about 25 loaves of this bread/cake, everyone loves it, what a great find. Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I have made this bread 3 times and each time it only lasts about 1 day everyone loves it and I am always getting requests to bake more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States