Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by JAIPO
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I followed this recipe EXACTLY... but it turned out really wet. I did not enjoy this recipe and will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
sooo good. i will definitely make this again, when i have lots of mangoes that need to be eaten before they spoil! i halved the sugar, and only used 1/4C oil and 1/4C butter, and it still turned out yummy, moist & sweet. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Very good bread, but I agree the mango flavor is quite mild. Made only one loaf since the 2 over-ripe mangoes I had were on the smallish side. Cut back a bit on the sugar as well as replaced the butter/oil with yogurt/applesauce. Omitted the walnuts and raisins (personal preference), but added a squeeze of lime. The bread is super-moist and tastes oh-so tropical with a dollop of lime curd (made from 'Perfect Lemon Curd'). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This is a very good bread...however, it was too moist...probably my fault...added too much mango. I added raisins and craisins, and slivered almonds (no walnuts). With the exception of the moistness, I have nothing bad to say about this bread. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This tasted delicious! I substituted the butter for applesauce and addded vinegar (no lemon juice on hand!) for the baking powder to work. Thus, I didn't have a problem with it rising. My mangoes were actually tart so the sugar called for was fine; otherwise you may want to halve it. The other reviewers were right - this did not taste that great the first day. But by the next day, it was amazing! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Laura i love the mango bread. it's so good. ~Alex Guy~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Moist and amazing. I used rice flour and spelt flour instead of wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Great recipe! I had some frozen mango that I needed to do something with and this worked perfectly. I ran out of raisins at the last minute, so I ended up using half raisins, half chopped dried apricots, and I didn't have cinnamon, so I used a dollop of apple cinnamon jelly and it still turned out great. Can't wait to try this with REAL cinnamon. I'm sure it'll be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
The mangos in Hawaii are falling from the trees in abundance. I discovered this recipe and have baked about 25 loaves of this bread/cake, everyone loves it, what a great find. Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I have made this bread 3 times and each time it only lasts about 1 day everyone loves it and I am always getting requests to bake more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States