Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This bread was very good and moist. It had more flavor the next day. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
OK, I was going to make this WONDERFUL sounding recipe and prove all those nay sayer wrong. Well, it was so less than wonderful. Now I will admit I did not add the coconut, nuts or rasins but added more mango that called for, also added lemon juice, a little ginger and a pinch of cardamon. It really tasted like a really good peach cobbler. Not at all what I expected. It was very moist. I don't think I will be making it again this way, I may try it without the mango all together and replace them with cranberries and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
It always amazes me that people on this site change the stated recipes all around and then have the audacity to rate it low! Something I'll never understand. Anyhow, tried the recipe as is with chopping the mangos and didn't care for the texture, so I made it again and put them in the food processor and it was great. Also, the second time I made it, I baked it at 325 degrees since it is so moist and needs time to cook from the inside out. Thanks for a workable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
No matter who I served this receipe to, those that had eaten Mango Bread before, those who hadn't and those who said they didn't like mangos, all raved at how moist, and delicious this receipe is. Best Mango bread receipe I've made to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I made this recipe last night substituting 3/4 cup applesauce for the oil and adding 1/2 stick butter (unsalted). Also, I did't add the raisins or nuts only the coconut. Wow, is it moist, almost like mango pudding, but very delicious. I took one to work and it was gone within minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
definitely worth making. i substituted "mango sauce" (similar to applesauce - available at some grocery stores include trader jo.s) for the oil to make it low fat, and this turned out to be a very moist, fruity bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Very much a cinnamon bread! Couldn't really taste the mangos. I used my Magic Bullet to puree 3 mangos, maybe I needed more? Bread was also very dark. Thanks for letting me try something different! PS Didn't add the walnuts, raisins, or coconut to this, personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Amazing! Like another reviewer, I added 1 tsp. baking powder, 1 tsp. baking soda, and 1 tsp. lemon juice. It was very moist and had great mango flavor--everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I thought this receipt was NOT going to turn out only from my mistakes - I was having a hard time making it due to being distracted, interrupted a few times by ringing phones, doorbells and family but it turned out great! I had prepared and measured everything in advance and when I peeled the mango I realized I didn't have enough to make 3 cups. So I measured the ingredients I had already prepared (wet and dry) and placed half of them aside so I could make the rest tomorrow and use the mangos I had cut. Then in my distraction I ended up putting half of the dry ingredients back in again by mistake! So I ended up having to bake it using half the mango and everything else as listed - and EVEN with messing up the order of mixing and half the mangos, it was fantastic. I was experimenting because I need to prepare some mango dishes for work next week and I will definitely be making this again (and ensuring I have enough mangos this time!) Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluJaysGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
DELICIOUS! I used very ripe mangos and I chose to puree them along with some cinnamon chips (since I ws out of ground cinnamon), used almonds instead of walnuts and threw some chocolate chips in instead of raisons since I hate them. Very good, but I'll agree with others that there really isn't a dominant mango taste to this. Reminds me of banana bread, with just a hint of mango taste. I'd make this again for sure...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States