Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
We have used this recipe in our family for YEARS. This is my favorite dessert. It sets MUCH better by using freshly squeezed lemon juice. (I believe the acids in the lemon causes it to set. Just a guess!) It also tastes a whole lot better with real lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
we had a fight break out over this pie. it was'nt too tart or sweet. i did use a regular pie crust as well as doubled the meraigne. i will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
My husband loved it! After reading the reviews, I used 1 tsp. less sugar in the meringue, and it was just the right amount of sugar. This was my first time making a meringue pie, and so I didn't "beat until stiff" since I didn't know how long that was. I should have beaten it for a lot longer. I also used a refrigerated egg, even though the recipe said to use a room temp egg. I should have listened. The meringue wasn't tall at all. I'll definately try this one again though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is the same recipe my mom and grandma have used for years, and one of my all time favorites. The only difference is we add 1 tsp of grated lemon grind (helps a little with the sweetness), 1 tsp of cream of tartar, and only 1 Tbsp of sugar. If you don't like sweet desserts, this one may not be for you. However, it's a huge hit at gatherings for anyone who likes lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I love this recipe, learnt it from my mother-in-law :O) My gradfather loves this pie, I'm not allowed in the house if I'm without a pie! lol :O) And to help Peg W out ...if you are using the same bowl for the meringue as the filling, once you wash the bowl you have to let it air dry completely and let it get back to room temp. befor eyou make the meringue otherwise, it will fall. Also, to anyone else having trouble , this pie only works if you are using a mixer and the longer you let the filling and the meringue mix the better it will be, I mix it on high with my Kitchen Aid. Hope this helps :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Griggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. I usually throw two lemons in the blender and then strain the juice allowing some pulp to slip in. That will take care of any excessive sweetness ppl have mentioned. A wonderful pie that should be made a summer tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
When I made this for a dinner party it was the first time I had ever made a meringue and it was totally easy and turned out perfect! It was a big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I love this pie. Our family has been eating it for special occasions for three generations, we use real lemons, and make a pie crust, not graham crackers. My sister has even won a few pie bake offs at church with this recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RicsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I have made this pie for 20 years and my husband loves. However, I made it twice yesterday with the same results as the person who rated it as a "Disaster". It was so gooey and runny. Something was wrong, but it wasn't the recipe. If anyone has a clue, please post it. I'm at a loss, unless the eggs or milk was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Really good & easy to make! My grandmother made a recipe similar to this, but she never gave it to anyone. It died with her. This pie is a carbon copy to her pie. Not only did it taste yummy, it brought back great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States