Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2000
Took this to a potluck party and everyone loved it. People actually fought over it. Its quick and easy to make, and can be turned into a frozen pie by replacing the merringue with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
too crumbly and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
WHAT A DISASTER!! This Pie doesn't set. I tried it 3 times, all with the result that it could be drunk through a straw!! Don't bother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This is a good, easy recipe. It is a bit sweet, I cut down the sugar in the meringue. I also baked it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
When I made this for a dinner party it was the first time I had ever made a meringue and it was totally easy and turned out perfect! It was a big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
My husband loved it! After reading the reviews, I used 1 tsp. less sugar in the meringue, and it was just the right amount of sugar. This was my first time making a meringue pie, and so I didn't "beat until stiff" since I didn't know how long that was. I should have beaten it for a lot longer. I also used a refrigerated egg, even though the recipe said to use a room temp egg. I should have listened. The meringue wasn't tall at all. I'll definately try this one again though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I gave this recipe a 2 only because i am going to keep the meringue part so i can use it again. The meringue was PERFECT! but then i took a bite of the actual lemon part of it. I had to spit it out! it was both extremly sweet and extremly sour at the same time! yucky. sorry jane but the recipe didnt turn out at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
WAY TOO SWEET - i even cut out a tbsp of the sugar. the meringue was fantastic though...and it's really easy. not sure how to make it less sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
It IS a very sweet pie - I generally use 3 yolks, which cuts the sweetness somewhat, and like other reviewers did, you can cut way back on the sugar in the meringue, but this recipe definitely requires a sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Three generations of my family have made this pie - nearly identical recipe - we just use fresh lemons. It is absolutely THE best! We usually have to make two to avoid fights over the left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States