Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
We have used this recipe in our family for YEARS. This is my favorite dessert. It sets MUCH better by using freshly squeezed lemon juice. (I believe the acids in the lemon causes it to set. Just a guess!) It also tastes a whole lot better with real lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I love this recipe, learnt it from my mother-in-law :O) My gradfather loves this pie, I'm not allowed in the house if I'm without a pie! lol :O) And to help Peg W out ...if you are using the same bowl for the meringue as the filling, once you wash the bowl you have to let it air dry completely and let it get back to room temp. befor eyou make the meringue otherwise, it will fall. Also, to anyone else having trouble , this pie only works if you are using a mixer and the longer you let the filling and the meringue mix the better it will be, I mix it on high with my Kitchen Aid. Hope this helps :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Griggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I have made this pie for 20 years and my husband loves. However, I made it twice yesterday with the same results as the person who rated it as a "Disaster". It was so gooey and runny. Something was wrong, but it wasn't the recipe. If anyone has a clue, please post it. I'm at a loss, unless the eggs or milk was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I love this pie. Our family has been eating it for special occasions for three generations, we use real lemons, and make a pie crust, not graham crackers. My sister has even won a few pie bake offs at church with this recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RicsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is the same recipe my mom and grandma have used for years, and one of my all time favorites. The only difference is we add 1 tsp of grated lemon grind (helps a little with the sweetness), 1 tsp of cream of tartar, and only 1 Tbsp of sugar. If you don't like sweet desserts, this one may not be for you. However, it's a huge hit at gatherings for anyone who likes lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I would call this more of alemon cream pie. The filling was a bit soft, but had good flavor. I could definitely have used more meringue than just 2 egg whites worth. Left it kind of thin on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I found this pie easy and delicious, although without cream of tartar, the meringue did pull away from the sides a bit. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is the best Lemon Meringue Recipe! The sweetened condensed milk makes it unbelievable rich. I have made this for the last 30 years and my Mother made it before that. I don't understand why anyone would have any problems with it. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is the way to make lemon meringue pie in south america... except no eggs for the filling. Just can and fresh lemons. If the pie is runny you need to work on the meringue because it is "weeping" on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Three generations of my family have made this pie - nearly identical recipe - we just use fresh lemons. It is absolutely THE best! We usually have to make two to avoid fights over the left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States