Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very good recipe! The filling gets 5 stars, but the meringue only gets 3 (I averaged them to get 4). The meringue is incredibly skimpy. I recommend doubling the egg whites, although it isn't necessary to double the sugar. I loved how easy the filling was compared to the lemon filling I usually make. It took less time and dirtied fewer pans. It also cooked beautifully and kept beautifully. No separating at the edges, and no weeping or beading! I made this first in a lemon version, then in a lime version. The lime was good, but the lemon was better. If you want a little stronger flavor, simply grate a little zest into it. But everyone who ate my pies thought the flavor was great just as it was. Hope this helps someone.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I didn't like the texture nor was the lemon flavor strong enough. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was pretty good. It was 5 stars for simplicity but just about 4 stars for taste. It wasn't bad but not amazing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was too sweet. I should have read the reviews before I made it. Also not enough meringue. Need more egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I love recipes with sweetened condensed milk. It gives this pie a smooth consistency, and sure makes it easy to make. However, we felt that this recipe was too sweet. If you like really sweet desserts, you'll like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
If you like lemon curd- you will LOVE this pie! This is an incredible tasting & easy to make pie! I don't know why others have had a hard time getting theirs to come out, but both times I've made it, it was perfect. I make sure to beat the filling on high for 3-5 minutes and it comes out nice and thick. I haven't had any problems at all with the meringue turning out although I do double the meringue ingredients so I can have a higher topping on my pie- I think it's nicer looking. Each time I've made this it's folks devour it in seconds- not even a piece left over for the one who baked it! Your recipe has been added to the Christmas Pie Must list- that's a HUGE honor in our house! This pie is great and I thank you so very much for sharing it!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
A great recipe for when you need dessert in a pinch, though the topping didn't turn out for me. I had to put the pie with filling in the oven for 7 min to heat the filling up then put the topping on once the pie was hot. The first time I put the topping on the cool filling and the bottom of the merange didn't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
After I made this my husband kept saying, "Babe, I'm gonna end up eating the whole thing." Which I just took to mean he was just complementing it. Well, that evening I went to get a piece, didn't see the pie in the fridge - found the empty pie plate in the sink. So, I guess it was fabulous. I'll have to make another tonight to find out for myself (and also bacause my husband is already asking for another).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
we love this pie! It's very easy, and the texture and taste is perfect. I make it every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Is GREAT!!I've been making this recipe for decades.. The TRICK to this pie is to mix egg yolks and sweetened milk thoroughly before adding lemon juice and while mixing add lemon and mix just enough to mix good and then pour into pie shell immediatly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States