Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is a good pie, not very lemony made with pre packaged lemon juice. Perfect for someone who wants a sweeter not tart at all lemon pie. Next time I will choose real lemons and less sugar for the meringue (I doubled the egg whites for the meringue as other suggested).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was good and easy to make. I did double the recipe for the merangue, like suggested in other reviews. I also had to add a little sugar to it to get it to stiffen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
My grandpa's favorite dessert is lemon meringue pie with sweetened milk, so i gave this recipe and try and it turned out great! He prefers a vanilla wafer crust (2 c crushed wafers, 6T melted butter, and extra whole wafers lined up around the outside of the pan and lightly grease the pan). I used real lemons, and needed at least 4 of them to make 1/2 c juice because my 3 didn't cut it. I also used 3 eggs, to make more meringue topping. The lemon juice sets the custard so you don't have to prebake it (I was worried about that part). Don't worry about overbeating your egg whites, just make sure they're plenty stiff so you can make pretty peaks on the pie. Since added an extra egg, I added 2 more T of sugar. I didn't think this pie was sour or overly sweet--the 2 layers balance each other out. I would reccomend lowering the cooking temp to 350 for 10 min, or until it starts to brown. Let it cool on the counter for about an hour and then refrigerate to set it. I can't wait for grandpa see and taste this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My Great Aunt made this when I was a small child,at the age of 43,I still miss those wonderful times sitting on the bench with my sisters eating a slice of her Lemon Pie,only one difference she crushed Nilla Wafer Cookies for the crust and put some of the cookies around the pie plate,then put what she called the Goody in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I doubled the recipe and made tarts and 1 pie. This recipe is creamy, lemony and delicious! I will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Thought this was a great recipe, super easy! I had the perfect amount of meringue but I did add more sugar and I did beat the egg whites for around 5 minutes total. I also used the store bought graham cracker pie crust which made it super easy and I had just the right amount for the size of the pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Very disappointing as there is not much of a really sharp lemon taste which I like. I much prefer the more tradionally made lemon meringue pie. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Utterly fantastic! I did ad the zest of one lemon for extra bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Well, I took everyone's advice and used 4 egg whites and it was barely enough meringue to cover. Don't use less. In fact, I would double the whole recipe next time. Without doubling it is just too small an amount in the 9" pie shell they recommend. I have a lot of crust sticking up over the edges and there was just not enough filing in each slice. Next time I am definitely doubling the whole recipe. I also baked at 400 for only 6 min and it was perfect. Any longer, as some other readers suggested, and the meringue would have burnt. Follow the instructions and it will come out great! Taste was excellent! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very yummy! Turned out great and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmysmom28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States