Magic Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This was okay. But I used 3 LARGE room temperature eggs instead of 2, and 2 teaspoons - a tablespoon of the zest. When it came down to the meringue, I used the cream of tartar along with a sprinkle of salt, and drizzled in 1 teaspoon of vanilla and a hot syrup of 3/4 cups of water, 1 tablespoon of cornstarch and 6 tablespoons of sugar. Remember to use cold beaters and mixing bowl when making a meringue, and to spread the finished product on top of the pie AS SOON as it comes out of the oven the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Easy and perfect recipe! I just made my own graham crust (to avoid extra preservatives from the ready crust) and as other ppl said here i used fresh limes, some pulp and zest for the juice, then added it to the cond milk in a beater. Didnt try the meringue. Great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made this as a treat for my mil, she doesn't share lol. She informed me that it was quite good, though it needed a little more 'punch'. I'd definitely add some lemon zest next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I used to avoid any and all recipes that called for sweetened condensed milk, as they were invariably waay too sweet for me! Then one day my daughter requested a birthday Flan, and every recipe I found had that sicky sweet stuff in it. So decided to try using evaporated milk instead and add my own sugar to taste. It was a complete success! There are so many more recipes that I can try now, that I wouldn't before, because I can have complete control over the amount of sugar. Just sharing for those who also found this pie too sweet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Love this type of lemon pie, for one pie I add 3 egg yolks and bake for 15 to 20 min without meringue @ 350 then let firm in fridge overnight. My family has been making this recipe for years and is always a hit. One pie is never enough so for family functions I make my own crust and use a 1/2 sheet cake size pan or larger depending on party size @ 1 1/2 to 2 inches deep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter, and after three days, it still wasn't set. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is the lemon pie recipe my mother always used and it was always very popular at family get-togethers. P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
we had a pre-thanksgiving dinner party and everyone loved this pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycrockertammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States