Magic Lemon Pie from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
To assure the filling is set, in our family, we cook the filling in a saucepan or better yet, a double boiler to someplace short of the set point before baking. And I always double this recipe for a nine inch pan. More is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Have loved this recipe for decades, and do indeed agree that one should use only freshly squeezed lemon juice and zest. I recall that this was in the recipe in "days of yore".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
ANSWERS to the problems some have had with this pie. If you want your pie to be firm and each piece stand alone, you must bake it to set the raw egg yokes. Bake the crumb crust for 5-8 minutes and cool. Then fill with lemon filling and bake 10 to 20 minutes. When you lightly touch the pie, it won't feel like a sticky goo. Cool for 2-3 hours then cover with whipped meringue and brown in oven. Cool again and serve. Or skip meringue and cover cooled pie with mixture of sour cream, confectioners sugar, and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
It isn't fool-proof by any means, but 9 times out of 10, this comes out great, so it gets 4 stars out of 5. This is my Dad's favorite pie, so I grew up on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
The best lemon meringue. Beat the filling longer than you would ever think you have to so it doesn't ooze out of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This has been a favorite in my family for over 50 yrs. I have added my own personal touch also. For the ones that have remarked about the pie being too thin....make sure that you mix BY HAND ONLY!!!! You may use a wisk, but a wooden spoon will serve the purpose well. Remember you only are BLENDING the ingredients. For a more TART pie. I squeeze the lemons for fresh lemon juice. I roll the lemons on the cabinet to soften them so they will be juicer (hopefully), then squeeze them for the juice and pulp to measure 1/2 cup of juice. MERINGUE: Make as normal, but I also add DRY POWDER...COUNTRY TIME LEMONADE , when I add cream of tarter and sugar, (as stated in receipe) Ummmmmmmmmmm Good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Worked for me! Easy. Set up just fine after chilling overnight in the fridge. Will probably be my go-to lemon pie recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My mother made this pie in the 50's, it's got to be one of the easiest and best recipes out there. I read a couple of reviews that were bad, ladies you are doing something wrong, using the wrong milk or something, this sets up wonderfully and is so delicious. I've been making them for 40 years now. I had never put lemon zest in my pies but the one that's cooling in the fridge right now has some lemon zest in it, can't wait to try it. Use a wire whip to mix your egg yolks and juice. If it didn't work for you, try it again, it's fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This is a classic recipe, but not tart enough for my family's taste! Try using a 9" crust, 4 to 5 eggs, and increase the lemon juice amount to YOUR tartness quotient, adding lemon extract, along with lemon zest to the custard!(taste as you go!) Then sweeten the meringue a bit more, and once cooled to room temperature, pop into the freezer to transform it into a summer-time triumph. If you're not fond of sweet & sour desserts, ignore my advice, but it's definitely worth your efforts to come up with your own variation on this classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
my favorite lemon meringue pie from childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States