Magic Cookie Bars from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I make these every year and they are always the first to be eaten from my cookie baskets. I usually bake the recipe as is. Substituting some choc chips for butterscotch and they are delicious but the original is a classic staple that is always a hit. Oh and to cheat I use a piazza cutter to slice them onto bars, much easier and creates uniformity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Just tried this recipe. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjking
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a good recipe if you do the following: --use unsalted butter (the salt in the butter comes out too much) --don't forget to press everything firmly before pouring condensed milk --split the condensed milk half over crumb base and other half over all ingredients. (don't pour all at the end as others have suggested, you need to adhere the bottom and the top layer --increase the crumbs to about 2 1/2 --wait until it's cooled entirely before cutting The base is pretty crumbly still, not sure how to keep it firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I have always made these but poured the milk over the top, now I just made them with the milk over the grahams crackers and hope they turn out. They look good, and taste awesome! I could eat the whole pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Costello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This recipe is nostalgic...and devine. Making magic layer cookie bars is an art of its own kind. First, let me start by saying I have always eaten the variation kind, where 1 cup of chocolate chips is substituted with butterscoth. The substitution adds so much more depth and chemistry to the bar. It ties with the coconut like a match made in heavena and keeps the flavor from being a monotonous overpowering chocolate. Secondly, the crust is a holy layer in itself. DO NOT cut the bars when they are hot. You will create a DISASTER. Chill the bars in the fridge for a while and the crust will be firm, still delicate, but not rock hard. Overall, the combination of sweet, creamy and just slightly salty is an amazing experience. The textures as well are insane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I thought they were a little sweet, but everyone at work absolutely loved these and were asking for the recipe. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
A favorite for YEARS!! Christmas cookie platters wouldn't be the same without them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
OMG these were sinfully delish!! Their also very addicting you cant just eat one. Instead of putting 2 cups of chocolate chips I put only one cup of chocolate chips and one cup butterscotch chips and they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April M Hagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Tip #1: Cut the bars before refrigerating them. Do NOT refrigerate and then expect to cut it the next day. It was hard as a rock and I couldn't cut it. It was pretty decent immediately after baking it but the next day it was hardened and not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This recipe brings back memories from my childhood. I made as the recipe is written. It's delicious & easy. I think the only thing I would do different is press the crust down a little better as it fell apart a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States