Magic Cookie Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I've made these for years. Always a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I made these as is save for switching the margarine for butter and walnuts for chopped pecans (only thing I had in the cupboard). They were very sweet, but went over very well with my friends. I think they could use all chocolate chips and no butterscotch chips, but they're worth trying for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
The changes I made resulted in an amazing bar. First, mix the graham cracker crumbs with the butter and tamp down into the bottom of a square 9" baking pan lined with parchment paper (instead of a 9 x 13 inch pan). Layer in the following order: graham cracker layer, sweetened condensed milk, nuts, 1 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips (omit the butterscotch!) and finish with the coconut layer. Bake at 350F for 40 minutes. Let cool in pan for an hour, then lift out with parchment paper and cut into squares. This results in a slightly thicker bar, which is chewy and delicious. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Did not turn out for me. I checked these with 7 minutes remaining and they were burned. Followed directions EXACTLY. The bars seemed thin as well. Since there are so many positive reviews, I was very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Mmmmmmmmmm.....so, so good. These bars are delicious. As an added plus, they are nearly impossible to mess up. I am a terrible baker so I love it when a recipe for a baked treat doesn't 'out' me as someone who is too impatient to closely follow directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Tyshan Marie Gallegos
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I had to use Vanilla wafers, I'm excited to try it with the gram next time around and some of the other tips left in comments ... My whole family LOVED it Thanx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Nice! I followed another reviewer's recommendation to use Quick Oats in place of the graham cracker crumbs and it worked beautifully! My only issue was that the butterscotch chips were a tiny bit overpowering. I may try this again and use peanut butter chips in place of the butterscotch. The Significant Other, who is an abnormally vocal non-fan of both butterscotch and coconut was impressed but agreed that next time I should try it with peanut butter chips. Will do! Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missing_mish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I LOVE these bars, but I have found that if you mix the nuts, chips, and coconut in a separate bowl and spread them, then drizzle the milk on top it makes them more chewy, and they don't fall apart on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristi Antle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This recipe is defective! The finished product disappears instantly! I made a batch and sent them with my hubby to his work site. He said they disappeared in minutes! Don't change a thing! These are so darn good! Gotta love sweetened condensed milk!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anneliese
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Just like I remember as a kid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States