Magic Cookie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe, but I make some changes and get great raves every time. For the crust I mix together the graham cracker crumbs and 3/4 cup coconut (processed fine in a food processor) with the melted margarine or butter. For the chips I substitute a 2-cup mixture of the milk chocolate, white chocolate, and butterscotch chips. I sometimes drizzle caramel or sprinkle the caramel chips on top. With the chip flavors made now you could try other variations as well. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
These were delicious! The only change I will make is, next time I will melt the butter and mix graham cracker crumbs first and definitely pour milk over top. My crust fell apart where there was not enough butter. Overall, everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
My husband hates coconut but loves these. I skip the walnuts because we don't like them. These are very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
These were so good! Next time I'll follow others' suggestion to mix the margarine and graham cracker crumbs together and pour the milk over the crust because my crust fell apart in places that didn't have enough margarine to the crumbs were too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This recipe is very sweet and addictive. I was introduced to it by my college roommate, whose family has been taking it to get-togethers for years, and the pan is always devoured. However, she mixes all of the ingredients together so the result is like a brownie/blondie square. It is REALLY good this way too. Just wanted to suggest trying that variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lila Honey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greeninoregon
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I totally agree with doubling the crust. I made two batches, the first as the recipe says and the second with a "crust and a half". I wish I had totally doubled it! I have had these bars from a local bakery and I am trying to get them to taste like theirs with no avail. Perhaps a bigger crust? The chocolate chips were a little over-powering. I am wondering if I put less in, or if the consistency of chips changes from brand to brand? I'd love some feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeninoregon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Fabulous and great for parties or gathering of a lot of people! Freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I did not change a thing and its tastes good and looks great! The topping of coconut has a light golden color, especially around the edge and just looks great and they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
These are fantastic. I can never make enough. I mix the melted butter and crumbs in a separate bowl, then press them down in the pan. That just seems easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
i took the advice of other reviewers and poured some of the milk over the crust before adding coconut and chocolate chips. these were a hit at the last potluck i took them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILSKIBO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States