Magic Cookie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Ridiculously Good!!!! Haven't made these in years; so glad I found this recipe again. I mixed up the graham crackers and butter in food processor, then dump in pan & pat down, and baked about 5 minutes extra so they were evenly golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
These are my most favorite holiday desserts to make. I however decreased the butter from 1/2 C. to 1/4 C. as I found it too greasy. I also added one small bag of butterscotch morsels along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I made these today for a camping trip we're taking this week. I used about 2 1/2 cups of graham cracker crumbs to make more of a sturdy crust. I also poured half the can of milk over the crumbs and the other half over the top once everything was in. They came out great. After cooling for an hour they cut easily and look really great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
They came out a lot flatter then I expected but they were good like that. We left out the nuts and put the milk under the coconut and chocolate chips so everything would stick together better. It worked quite well and had a much nicer appearance. We froze them after the first day and we are eating them straight out of the freezer. We're liking them better cold then at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This recipe is always a hit. We don't like nuts in our baked goods - so I used choc chips, butterscotch chips and white choc chips in addition to the coconut flakes. After I assemble, I give the pan a slight tap on the counter to settle the condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Soooooooo yummy! I followed the recipe exactly and these were delicious! I have been putting off making these and now I am so glad that I finally did. The whole family loved these. I made them today and they are already half gone! This is a nice departure from the usual cookies/brownies. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Great recipe! I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. Some of the graham cracker crumb did not stay on the cookies when I cut them and placed them on a plate but recipe was still delicious. Tastes sort of like you're having an almond joy cookie bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This has been my absolute favorite treat since I was a small child. This recipe has been passed down from generation to generation and I love it! Although, the recipe my family has is a little bit different than this one... Tips - Mix the margarine/butter and graham cracker crumbs together to make a firmer "crust". (My family also melts the margarine in the pan in the oven.) - Pour the condensed milk on the graham cracker crumbs BEFORE adding the other ingredients. It seems to make everything stick together better and it makes it so much more presentable! - Use more than 1 cup of chocolate chips. Especially if you're a chocolate lover. 1 cup just isn't enough! Also, I like the recipe better without the nuts. They seem to kind of take away from the other flavors. But I'm not a big fan of nuts in desserts to begin with. Hope you enjoy these as much as I do! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This has been a favorite of mine for several years. Quick, easy, sooo good. I also recomend replacing the graham crackers with 1/2 of box of yellow cake mix - creates a much richer bar. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
THESE are AWESOME!! The only reason the person a few ratings below me only gave it 3 stars is because she didn't follow the recipe at all.....duh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States