Magic Cookie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This has been my absolute favorite treat since I was a small child. This recipe has been passed down from generation to generation and I love it! Although, the recipe my family has is a little bit different than this one... Tips - Mix the margarine/butter and graham cracker crumbs together to make a firmer "crust". (My family also melts the margarine in the pan in the oven.) - Pour the condensed milk on the graham cracker crumbs BEFORE adding the other ingredients. It seems to make everything stick together better and it makes it so much more presentable! - Use more than 1 cup of chocolate chips. Especially if you're a chocolate lover. 1 cup just isn't enough! Also, I like the recipe better without the nuts. They seem to kind of take away from the other flavors. But I'm not a big fan of nuts in desserts to begin with. Hope you enjoy these as much as I do! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
These are great. I would suggest mixing the graham cracker crumbs and butter together first and pressing into your pan. Pour Sweetened Condensed Milk over crust, then layer with remaining ingredients. Makes it all stick together better. You can substitute chocolate chips or nuts with dried cranberries, raisins, mini marshmallows or butterscotch chips. So many variations to use. Always a crowd pleaser.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Very yummy! I made a few modifications after reading the reviews - I used chocolate graham crackers and doubled the graham cracker/butter base since a few of the reviewers said the base was a little skimpy as it is - I liked the thickness of the base but would probably use less butter next time. I put the milk on top of the base since other reviewers said it made for a more attractive bar (I might do half under and half over next time though, to help the toppings stick better) and instead of just semi-sweet chocolate chips I mixed white chocolate chips and chocolate/peanut butter swirled chips. Since the base was thicker it took longer to cook. I check them after 25 minutes and they were not even close to being done so I covered it with foil to keep the coconut from burning and had to bake it for about 20 additional minutes. They were awesome once the cooled and set up a bit, I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is very similar to a recipe I used to make at a bakery I worked at years ago. It's great for people who don't like exact measurements and who like to experiment. At the bakery we used white chocolate, milk chocolate, and butterscotch chips, coconut, walnuts, and sweetened condensed milk. I have also tried peanut butter chips, almonds, and M&M baking pieces, all with great success. The only trick to this recipe is not baking it too long or the sugars in the milk will harden after cooling. Gooey-ness is the key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is such a classic...we always called them 'Hello Dollies.' I poured half of the can of sweetened condensed milk over the crust, then the other half over the enitre thing before baking. I omitted the nuts (going to be serving for a large group, omitted just in case some don't care for/are allergic to), also - I didn't have any chocolate chips, so I just chopped up some Easter chocolate they we have over from Easter this year - used a bit more than a cup. Great recipe - everyone loves it, a lot like Mounds bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is so delicious! The only reason I gave this 4 stars is because the recipe calls for sprinkling the crumbs. You have to create a crust on the pan and I poured the condensed milk with each layer so everything was nicely layered together without falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Photo by greeninoregon
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I totally agree with doubling the crust. I made two batches, the first as the recipe says and the second with a "crust and a half". I wish I had totally doubled it! I have had these bars from a local bakery and I am trying to get them to taste like theirs with no avail. Perhaps a bigger crust? The chocolate chips were a little over-powering. I am wondering if I put less in, or if the consistency of chips changes from brand to brand? I'd love some feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeninoregon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Whenever I make these bars for my college friends, they disappear like crazy! Out of everything that I bake, these seem to be everybody's favorite. The only suggestion I would make is to combine the graham cracker crumbs and butter together in a bowl instead of sprinkling the crumbs over the butter. This makes the crust firmer, and the bars do not break as easily. Other than that, these bars are excellent, and definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This has been a favorite of mine for several years. Quick, easy, sooo good. I also recomend replacing the graham crackers with 1/2 of box of yellow cake mix - creates a much richer bar. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
A friend made these for a party and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States