Magic Cookie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I have tried many variations of this recipe and this one was my favorite. I stirred the margarine and graham cracker crumbs (1 1/2 packages) together, and assembled the remaining ingredients as instructed (minus the walnuts because my husband doesn't like them). I also added 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips. Baked 20 minutes and came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
These are great. I would suggest mixing the graham cracker crumbs and butter together first and pressing into your pan. Pour Sweetened Condensed Milk over crust, then layer with remaining ingredients. Makes it all stick together better. You can substitute chocolate chips or nuts with dried cranberries, raisins, mini marshmallows or butterscotch chips. So many variations to use. Always a crowd pleaser.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Can you say YUMMY! These were fantastic! As some reviewers mentioned, I also skipped the nuts. No problem. I also didn't have a full cup of chocolate, so I substituted a handful of butterscotch chips instead (and, while I was at it, threw in some toffee bits). I'm telling you....these were good warm right out of the oven, and the next day for a little indulgence with my morning coffee. The longer they set, the firmer they got and they indead were magical! They almost tasted like a candy bar. I will have to most definately make these around the holidays for our friends and neighbors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMPERtheCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
These are rich and delicious and better yet, easy to make. I did change a few things. First I crushed Oreo cookies in the food processor until there was enough for three cups. I mix the crumbs with half a cup of melted butter and pressed firmly into the bottom of the pan. As suggested, I spread half of the sweetened condensed milk on the crumbs and then added the toppings. I used chopped walnuts, chocolate chips, white chocolate chips and a little bit of coconut (normally I hate coconut but it tastes nice in this recipe). I spread the remainder of the milk once the toppings were in place and baked at 350 for almost twenty minutes. I added additional chips once I pulled the bars from the over for a nicer presentation. Even though my husband was desperate to eat some, I waited for at least 40 minutes before cutting the bars. They were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These were awesome! I made them for our New Year's Eve party last night and they were gone in an instant! I've had many similar versions but this one was so nice and moist and crumbly -- not at all hard or dry or sticky. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I started making these several years ago. Our FAVORITE combination though is to use all butterscotch chips and slivered almonds. I use 2 cups graham cracker crumbs too for a thicker crust, chips, coconut, nuts then top with the condensed milk. Everytime I've taken these to a party or potluck, they disappear faster than the chocolate ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebiMcG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I abosolutely love this recipe. I added about 1/4 cup more graham cracker crumbs and poured the sweetened condensed milk on the crumbs before adding the rest. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Very yummy! I made a few modifications after reading the reviews - I used chocolate graham crackers and doubled the graham cracker/butter base since a few of the reviewers said the base was a little skimpy as it is - I liked the thickness of the base but would probably use less butter next time. I put the milk on top of the base since other reviewers said it made for a more attractive bar (I might do half under and half over next time though, to help the toppings stick better) and instead of just semi-sweet chocolate chips I mixed white chocolate chips and chocolate/peanut butter swirled chips. Since the base was thicker it took longer to cook. I check them after 25 minutes and they were not even close to being done so I covered it with foil to keep the coconut from burning and had to bake it for about 20 additional minutes. They were awesome once the cooled and set up a bit, I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I just got this recipe from a friend recently, but with 2 cups of chocolate chips and no nuts. DELICIOUS!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This was a good recipe. I enjoyed it and it was soooooo easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States