Magic Cookie Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is a great addition to your arsenal of desserts and is good for any occasion with a little modification to fit the mood. I agree the crust would be better if made "one and a half" the amount in the recipe and one can the condensed milk on top of the crust and one on top of the chocolate chips and etc. I switched marshmallows for the walnuts, making this into a yummy s'more bar that is sure to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
My mom made this when I was a kid. I have made this twice so far. The first time by-the-book, yummy. The second time I followed the advice and doubled the crust...it rocked. But I also added peanut butter chips...great. those two changes made a great recipe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I grew up calling these "hello dollies". a good basic recipe. I mix chopped pecans, coconut and chocolate chips together to get even distribution. I melt the butter and mix it in with the graham cracker crust and then press it into the bottom. pour half of the can of evaporated milk on top of the crust, then add the coconut mixture and then add more evaporated milk on top. it is ALWAYS a hit and if you make it for people who have never had it before people will think you are a culinary genius. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is a great simple recipe. I have been using it for years. I accidentally used cinnamon graham crackers. It added a great flavor to these bars. Will probably make them this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
super easy and tasty! They taste like a candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I took the advise of other reviewers and I doubled the graham cracker crust; however, I ended up with a very crumbly crust even though I doubled the margarine too. Should you bake the crust by itself first maybe? Add even more margarine? Otherwise the coconut, walnuts, and milk chocolate chip topping was great! They tasted like those somoa girl scout cookies! Will try to make these again, but will play around with the crust part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Micki0310
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
These are amazing. I used the search engine to find a dessert that used all the ingredients I had on hand and this popped up and thank goodness it did! I mixed the butter and crumbs together and pushed them into the bottom and then topped with walnuts , white, milk and semi-sweet chocolate chips , then coconut and then sweetened milk on top of everything and they turned out perfect. I brought them as the dessert to a dinner and the host wouldn't let me leave with the few leftovers there were lol Which upset my husband and which is why I'm making him a double batch this weekend !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki0310

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
/this is the way my mom used to make them. You pour the milk over everything where as some recipes do just the crust. I like this way better the coconut gets sweetened this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I was really trying to find the recipes my mil used to make...this wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I grew up with my mom making these. When she finally taught me how, I was blown away with how simple they are. At parties they always disapear quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States