Magic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
We thought this recipe was very good. I used 3/4 cup of a $6 red wine from Trader Joe's and also their artichoke hearts (I prefer those because they are not quite so salty as other marinated artichoke hearts). The mushrooms were also TJ's (I guess you get the trend here). I followed the recipe exactly except for seasoning the chicken with some of my favorite seasoning from this site---Papa's Seasoning. I'm not sure what was wrong for the other reviewers because we'd have this again! I often have leftovers of the ingredients used in this recipe. The chicken that was left over will make a really good sandwich tomorrow! Thanks, MRSCHRISB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Delicious. I have made this several times, sometimes with fresh mushrooms which I saute a little first. Super easy and super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I can see how this recipe appeals to those who are looking for a simple and easy way to get dinner on the table fast, but the taste would be so much better with a few modifications and a little more effort. First, never use commercial cooking wine - ever! It's the poorest quality you can buy. Instead, opt for a good quality dry wine (either red or white) you would enjoy drinking tableside. The better the ingredients, the better the outcome. Second, I suggest sauteing seasoned chicken cutlets in a tablespoon or two of olive oil or the artichokes marinade until evenly browned. Then toss in some onion and garlic along with fresh sliced mushrooms and cook until soft. Next, deglaze the pan with the wine, and reduce a bit to cook off the alcohol and thicken the sauce. Then add the artichoke hearts (quartered or roughly chopped), simmer until heated through and the flavors marry. Finally season to taste with salt, pepper, and a little fresh minced thyme and/or parsley. Done in under a half hour and much more magical than dried out baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casa Hice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I used red wine ( a Cabernet Sauvignon) AND marinated artichokes and I have to say I did not care for this chicken. It was tasteless, flavorless and completely unappealing to look at. I apologized to my husband and kids several times for even serving it to them. Sorry but if I could give it zero stars I would :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I make something similar, but FIRST...dip chicken in egg and bread crumbs..lightly brown on stove top, THEN put in baking dish,with listed ingredients, BUT only 1/4 to 1/2 cup WHITE wine.......these changes makes this WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
People! Read and follow directions!! It calls for RED COOKING WINE, not sherry. Those are two totally tasting liquids. Also, use MARINATED, undrained artichoke hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I did follow the recipe, using cooking sherry like it says. Red wine? This recipe shows up two different ways, when I went to edit it, it shows 1 cup red cooking wine but the recipe that I printed and used said 1 cup cooking sherry. No wonder everone is confused!!!!Sorry but I agree with most of the other posts that it was swimming in too much sherry, If I ever make it again, I would use about a 1/4 of sherry and the rest of the liquid would be chicken broth. I like the idea of adding garlic, salt, and pepper. It definatly needed something. Again, it was easy so it would be nice if it could be tweeked to have a better end result. We served it over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamperedChefKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I see a lot of bad reviews on this recipe when they didn't even follow the recipe....sherry and red wine are NOT the same! I found this recipe to have a very well-rounded flavor. The RED WINE (not sherry) did not overwhelm the dish. I was skeptical of using red wine with poultry, but this recipe changed my mind. Excellent recipe for those who have an acquired taste for cooking with wine. On a personal note...if you don't follow the recipe EXACTLY...don't show your ignorance by giving the recipe a bad review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mullins, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Georgetown, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Good recipe *IF* you follow directions. Use RED WINE, not sherry...use marinated artichoke hearts in a jar, not plain canned artichoke hearts. If you use the marinated kind, and the red wine, it will have seasoning and oil (from the artichoke hearts) and won't be overpoweringly "alcohol-flavored" as it would be if you used sherry instead of the red wine called for. I do suggest using a decent red wine, not "cooking" red wine, which is usually not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Nothing magic about this one. None of us were impressed with this, one little bit. I love cooking with sherry, but this called for a bit too much; the chicken ended up drowning and the taste was overpowering. Limp, canned veggies only made this recipe worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States