Maggie's Camper Specials Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I love these cookies and so do all my camping friends! I have made them twice now exactly how the recipe says and they are delicous. There is so little coconut that even my friends that don't coconut still enjoy the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Now this is an chocolate chip oatmeal cookie! Crispy and chewy - just a lovely texture. I used pecans instead of peanuts. You can leave out the espresso without compromising the cookie, if coffee flavor isn't your thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I was delighted with these cookies. I did have the instant espresso on hand and it was a great addition, but not overwhelming like another cookie I tried with the coffee flavor. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
These were very good. I used unsalted peanuts because salted seemed a bit strange for a sweet cookie. Also I halved the recipe and still got about 45 cookies, so next time I will maybe make them bigger. They do stay crunchy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Delicious! I substituted pistachios for the peanuts, and I have to say, the salted flavor actually combines very well with the chocolate and the coconut. I halved the recipe and made the cookies about twice as big, and still got two dozen, but they taste great. Be warned, they do spread out quite a bit - I thought all the "chunks" of things would keep them higher, but they spread out into one big cookie on my first tray :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I made these for a family camping trip. They were a hit! Excellent, and not just for camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
These were really good. I had requests to make oatmeal cookies and chocolate chip cookies, so this recipe was able to satisfy everyone. I halved the recipe and omitted the coconut as I'm not a big fan, and these came out great. I didn't have any espresso powder but I did have regular coffee powder that I used, which really gave it a nice flavor. A really really tasty cookie that I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
A great cookie!!!! I made them for the holidays, and they were a hit. Yes, they are excellent days after baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
These were fantabulous! Makes enough to put a few in the freezer to enjoy later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is an amazing recipe - everyone in my family loves it. I did switch the regular flour, that was called for in the recipe, to a Gluten Free flour mixture (my son is on a Gluten Free diet) - changing the flour did not affect the taste of them at all and made it so that he could enjoy them, too. Thankfully, the oatmeal in them does not affect him or we would have missed out on trying this incredible cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States