Maggie's Camper Specials Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Now this is an chocolate chip oatmeal cookie! Crispy and chewy - just a lovely texture. I used pecans instead of peanuts. You can leave out the espresso without compromising the cookie, if coffee flavor isn't your thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I was delighted with these cookies. I did have the instant espresso on hand and it was a great addition, but not overwhelming like another cookie I tried with the coffee flavor. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
These were very good. I used unsalted peanuts because salted seemed a bit strange for a sweet cookie. Also I halved the recipe and still got about 45 cookies, so next time I will maybe make them bigger. They do stay crunchy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Delicious! I substituted pistachios for the peanuts, and I have to say, the salted flavor actually combines very well with the chocolate and the coconut. I halved the recipe and made the cookies about twice as big, and still got two dozen, but they taste great. Be warned, they do spread out quite a bit - I thought all the "chunks" of things would keep them higher, but they spread out into one big cookie on my first tray :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I made these for a family camping trip. They were a hit! Excellent, and not just for camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
These were really good. I had requests to make oatmeal cookies and chocolate chip cookies, so this recipe was able to satisfy everyone. I halved the recipe and omitted the coconut as I'm not a big fan, and these came out great. I didn't have any espresso powder but I did have regular coffee powder that I used, which really gave it a nice flavor. A really really tasty cookie that I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
A great cookie!!!! I made them for the holidays, and they were a hit. Yes, they are excellent days after baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
These turned into one cookie in the oven, that was way too sweet and very greasy. I was sad it have used my peanuts and chocolate chips in this recipe. I had very high hopes for these... I may try again but with some major alterations... I have changed my review from a one to a three star. Since the ingredients were just so good sounding I broke up the unicookie that came out of the over and stored them for a couple of days... they tasted much better than day one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is a really crispy oatmeal cookie with a good taste, but don't expect to much with the coffee flavor. When I tasted the dough raw, the espresso really came through. But once it was cooked, I did not taste it. If I made this again I would probably increase the espresso so that I could taste it more. I made them bigger with my ice cream scooper and cooked for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I made this recipe over the weekend and baked one batch; I was disappointed that they did seem to spread out quite a bit. I was expecting a much chunkier, thicker cookie. I stuck the rest of the cookie dough in the fridge cause I got busy with the kids and took it out to use the rest today. What a huge difference some fridge time made! This time the cookies came out thick, crunchy and delicious. Will definitely use this recipe again, but plan on refrigerating the dough before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States