Maggie's Camper Specials Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
The neighbors ask when I will make these again (I often share baked goods with them)! Great recipe. Don't substitute for the butter. They keep and travel very well, if they last that long! Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Monster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I made these for my son-in-law and co-workers and they all raved about them. I substituted cocoanut oil for the butter and they still raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Uh-oh, I thought. A dry and crumbly dough will produce a dry and crumbly cookie. I even had some difficulty keeping the the little dough balls in mounds on the cookie sheet. But when they came out of the oven....wow. They're not the prettiest cookie I've ever made, but the looks were deceiving. The cookies are sweet, and gooey and soft and chewy and chocolaty and oatie all at once. And they stayed that way long after the chocolate chips had set. The peanuts were unexpected and made these cookies particularly delicious. Normally I give most of what I bake away - Hubs didn't want me to this time. Still, I think if I were to make these again, I'd add a tablespoon or two of milk to moisten the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Made this recipe for the first time for our camping trip with friends. It was so popular that now I'm asked to make it for all our get-togethers! I made a few adjustments to suit my taste: I used walnuts or pecans instead of peanuts; 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1/2 cup butterscotch chips instead of milk chocolate chips; and instant coffee powder instead of espresso powder. I found that it makes 4 dz cookies for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I followed the recipe almost exactly except I toasted the coconut. I chilled the dough as other reviewers complained of a thin cookie. They baked up fat and chewy--delicious texture. The taste of the cookie did not come near the presentation. Not a very tasty cookie at all-no one ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
These cookies are weird. They spread too much & I can't really tell if they are "done" because they look gooey even when they are done. They don't look very appetizing either. The taste is good, but I don't like the texture. Too crisp & chewy for me. I doubt I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is an amazing recipe - everyone in my family loves it. I did switch the regular flour, that was called for in the recipe, to a Gluten Free flour mixture (my son is on a Gluten Free diet) - changing the flour did not affect the taste of them at all and made it so that he could enjoy them, too. Thankfully, the oatmeal in them does not affect him or we would have missed out on trying this incredible cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I love these cookies and so do all my camping friends! I have made them twice now exactly how the recipe says and they are delicous. There is so little coconut that even my friends that don't coconut still enjoy the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
These were fantabulous! Makes enough to put a few in the freezer to enjoy later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I made this recipe over the weekend and baked one batch; I was disappointed that they did seem to spread out quite a bit. I was expecting a much chunkier, thicker cookie. I stuck the rest of the cookie dough in the fridge cause I got busy with the kids and took it out to use the rest today. What a huge difference some fridge time made! This time the cookies came out thick, crunchy and delicious. Will definitely use this recipe again, but plan on refrigerating the dough before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States