Mafioso Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
After trying this recipe once, it became my go-to chocolate cake recipe. Very moist, almost mousse-like. Follow the directions exactly and you can't fail. Fantastic recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
AWESOME cake,my family loves it!!!!!!!! The texture is so smooth,and I have never had a chocolate cake so good,I make it for special occasions:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassycook
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I made this cake for my sister's birthday because she requested a chocolate cake. It was a huge hit with the entire family and now will become a classic. I made made the substitutions for the cake flour and the dutch cocoa and it came out fine. The texture of the cake was light but not too light. Also, the chocolate was sweet but which is what my family appreciated. I will definitely be making this again. It would be a good recipe for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Surprisingly dense! I had some concerns about how it would taste... it was amazing! I loved the flavor and "mouth feel". Probably the best chocolate cake I've ever had. Used a cream cheese frosting instead of the icing listed. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Absolutely in love with this cake. The frosting is very tasty and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made the cake - I didn't mix it right. IT TURNED OUT EXCELLENT!! My 8 friends loved it!! I can't wait to make it again the right way!! This will become my specialty!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elasea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda Holtrop
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Loved this. I too added the almond flavoring to both the batter and frosting and baked them as cupcakes. They were very moist! Since I was making them close to Valentine's Day, I topped them each with a strawberry sliced and fanned out a bit. They were worth the work and the extra dishes it took to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Holtrop

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I used the recipe for the Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting on Allrecipes instead of the included recipe here, as suggested by a reviewer on the frosting link. What a fantastic combination! An incredible, moist, dense cake. A little more labor intensive than I'm used to with a cake box mix, but well worth the effort. No too sweet, but luscious! I made this for my husband's birthday, and we're still nibbling on it 2 days later. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This cake is wonderful. I've never made a chocolate cake from scratch before and I'm glad that I chose to make this one my first! It's rich and moist. My son had a piece, sat quietly eating it and then proclaimed "I am VERY happy right now!" My sentiments exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Wonderful chocolate cake!! Easy to follow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States