Mafioso Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Hands down one of the best chocolate cakes I've ever eaten and absolutely the best I've personally made! So moist! Shared this cake while having guests over and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is the first review I am leaving here, because this is a fantastic cake and the best recipe I have tried on this site so far. My husband and I don't even like most cake, but this one was not too sweet, not crumbly, and not dry. The recipe seemed a little complicated and I made a few small changes (1/2 AP and 1/2 whole wheat flour, mix of natural and Dutch process cocoa, used melted butter), but it wasn't difficult at all and my co-workers loved it. I was worried that there is no salt in the recipe and I used unsalted butter, but no one missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
I have made this cake a few times now, it is always a success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I make a half batch of icing, a full batch is far too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
This cake was absolutely fantastic! I added slightly more cocoa than the recipe called for, and the result was a rich, dense, smooth, melt in your mouth cake. WARNING: THIS CAKE IS FOR VERY SERIOUS CHOCOLATE LOVERS. The frosting was great too, but this cake is so wonderful, a light dusting with powdered sugar would be just fine. I will make this again. Thank you so much for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
BOY HOWDY! Was this ever one of the best KNOCK-YOUR-SOX-OFF chocolate cakes. Yum Yum! Light, fluffy, moist, and soooo chocolatey (I used 2/3c cocoa in cake). Many thanks to the Pellettieres for a great cake! It WOULD be a shame to lose this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe is awesome!!! I've been making it for over 5 years and everyone loves it. My mom even loves it and she is not a big chocolate fan. I've given the recipe to people and always tell them not to change a thing, or else... The frosting even comes out great and I failed frosting 101. Thanks for the awesome recipe. --Boxofrain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I LOVE this cake. I have made it many times and it always turns out perfect. Even the baking time is 100% which is amazing, as ovens and weather etc often affect how long it takes. Haven't tried the icing, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ida vB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Truly a lovely cake recipe! Dense enough for cupcakes (which was my use) and sweet enough to need just a sprinkle of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
delicious! Cooking time was longer then stated. I used 1 3/4 AP flour and the cake was moist like a pudding cake. Not dense or heavy at all. I followed the recipe as written except the flour and there was lots of flavor. Rich and chocolaty.The frosting is the finishing touch to this cake. My Husband says the strawberries I used to decorate the cake with just put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States