Mafioso Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
I have made this cake a few times now, it is always a success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This cake took a long time to make but was well received by a crowd. I thought it was too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
BOY HOWDY! Was this ever one of the best KNOCK-YOUR-SOX-OFF chocolate cakes. Yum Yum! Light, fluffy, moist, and soooo chocolatey (I used 2/3c cocoa in cake). Many thanks to the Pellettieres for a great cake! It WOULD be a shame to lose this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
This cake was absolutely fantastic! I added slightly more cocoa than the recipe called for, and the result was a rich, dense, smooth, melt in your mouth cake. WARNING: THIS CAKE IS FOR VERY SERIOUS CHOCOLATE LOVERS. The frosting was great too, but this cake is so wonderful, a light dusting with powdered sugar would be just fine. I will make this again. Thank you so much for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
This cake was AWFUL. The icing was runny and the cake was hard and not tasty. I followed the recipe exactly and to my dismay, it came out nothing like the other reviews stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Too bad I didn't read the last review before I tried this cake. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was dreadful - dry and tough. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
The first time I made this cake, I used all-purpose flour (because I didn't have cake flour), and I made a LAYER cake out of it. It was *really* dense...My chocoholic mom LOVED it. The second time I made it, I followed directions carefully, using cake flour and a 9x13" pan. My chocoholic father-in-law loved it. Both times my hubby loved it. I guess it's foolproof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Since we share the same name as the submitters of this recipe- we had to try it! Wondering if there is some relation too! The cake was great. Very dark, and very rich. Not too hard to make. We used 2 8 1/2 inch round pans. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Wonderful cake will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This cake was ok, but pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSHKARENWOLFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States