Mafioso Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This was only okay. I had to add extra butter to get it to cream properly. The cake was very moist, but not very chocolatey or flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASTET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
The first time I made this cake I noticed 3 eggs sitting on the countertop as I bant to put the cake inthe oven. OOPS! Anyway, it was hard to scarpe out of the pan, but iced with a chocolate and cream cheese frosting, it was the best cake I've ever had. My egg-allergic friend was very excited. Next time I used one of the eggs to hold it together a bit better, and it has a slightly brownie-ish consistency. Yes! The best chocolate cake EVER. :) I haven't used the icing included in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, New York, USA
Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I loved this cake, but my husband thought it was a little too rich. I was surprised that the icing didn't harden. Maybe not as much milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This cake was ok, but pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSHKARENWOLFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Wonderful cake will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Since we share the same name as the submitters of this recipe- we had to try it! Wondering if there is some relation too! The cake was great. Very dark, and very rich. Not too hard to make. We used 2 8 1/2 inch round pans. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
The first time I made this cake, I used all-purpose flour (because I didn't have cake flour), and I made a LAYER cake out of it. It was *really* dense...My chocoholic mom LOVED it. The second time I made it, I followed directions carefully, using cake flour and a 9x13" pan. My chocoholic father-in-law loved it. Both times my hubby loved it. I guess it's foolproof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Too bad I didn't read the last review before I tried this cake. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was dreadful - dry and tough. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
This cake was AWFUL. The icing was runny and the cake was hard and not tasty. I followed the recipe exactly and to my dismay, it came out nothing like the other reviews stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
This cake was absolutely fantastic! I added slightly more cocoa than the recipe called for, and the result was a rich, dense, smooth, melt in your mouth cake. WARNING: THIS CAKE IS FOR VERY SERIOUS CHOCOLATE LOVERS. The frosting was great too, but this cake is so wonderful, a light dusting with powdered sugar would be just fine. I will make this again. Thank you so much for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States