Madeleines II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
So delicious. I've never had these before so I had no idea how they are "supposed" to be, but they were so spongy and delicious. Great dipped in coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I only made half a batch since I only had one madeleine pan (12 cookies), but they turned out perfectly. Strawberry season just started and the lemon zest in these cookies went perfectly with the strawberries. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Sorry, but without the beurre noisette (brown butter) that I think a Madeleine requires, these were just poor. It's a bit like calling a tofu burger a hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Lawrence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was fabulous. I added some almond extract and decreased the temp of the oven to 325 degrees. I poured the mixture into a ziplock bag and used it to pipe the mixture into the pans. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIAJESS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are wonderful and so easy to make! I agree with another reviewer that the baking temp is a bit to high...I tried it at 350 and they came out perfect! I made a batch with raspberry extract and they were a big hit at my tea party! Also, for those who had trouble with their pans...the nonstick madeleine pans are a breeze to use and not expensive. I used a fork to immediately remove to wire rack with no problem. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
extremely easy to make & tasty too! i used orange zest instead of lemon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paulina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is truly wonderful!!! I made it for Eid(muslim holiday) and everyone thought it tasted great!!! The trick is to really beat this as called for because if you don't I think it will not plump up as much when baking !! You really need to watch this because I think 375 degrees is too high...I had it on 300 and baked it for 13 minutes and kept checking it and it came out buttery golden and was fantastic. I did half the batch with almonds! That was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
excellent recipe, really easy. too bad my mixer broke towards the middle of beating the eggs, but even using a whisk, they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
These were amazing and so easy to make! I've used orange flavour instead of lemon and vanilla and dipped the ends in coffee flavoured chocolate...yumm yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lysa
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
PERFECT! I can't stop eating them. They are soooo good. Just be sure to grease and flour your pan generously. I used shortening to grease as recommended by another reviewer. Also, this recipe requires at least 10 minutes of mixing with the electric mixer but they are worth the effort. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States