Madeleines II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
the texture was really nice, but I really think I should have left out the lemmon. It would have been better with just the buttery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe was easy to follow but I am not sure that this is how Madeleine's cookies are suppose to taste. They came out very light and airy while Madeleine's are suppose to be dense and buttery. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillymuffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
The taste was really good...but being that I'm vegan I tried veganising it...and it didn't really work out...but I will continue to work at it! Thanks so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I doubled the recipe using the scaling mechanism below the recipe and and they came out terribly. Do not double!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I had a pan with 12 large Madeleine shells, and I only baked them for around 8 minutes which was perfect for me. The first time I baked them for 10 and they came out burnt on the edges and quickly became stiff. After taking off a few minutes they came out great -- moist, spongy, etc. I gave them a three because I'm sure they came out how they were supposed to but the recipe didn't boost the cookie to one of my favorites. I will only make these on occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This recipe turned out perfect for me! The cookies are light and sweet the perfect compliment to coffee or tea. Some people had difficulty getting them out of the pan and my advice would be to use shortening (like crisco) to grease the pan and then dust well with flour. Make sure your eggs are room temperature when you start and not right out of the fridge our they will grow and froth up too much. Other hints... oh i tapped the pan on the counter instead of using a knife to loosten and they just fell right out. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I've been making this recipe for all my friends and this is a sure winner, even with the ladies ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Unfortunately, this recipe turned into a complete disaster for me. I followed the recipe but I used Pastry Flour like I always do with all my baking. I am not sure if that's why it turned out so bad but the madeleines were very airy, impossible to get them out the pan. We had to eat them out of the pan, spooning out anything we could get. It tasted ok, that wasn't the problem....just the fact that it was impossible to get them out and not at all the texture of what madeleines should be. Maybe it is just impossible to make them using pastry flour so if you are someone like me who only use pastry flour (whole grain soft wheat flour, high in fiber), do not try this recipe. Pastry flour always worked for my cakes and muffins, even cookies but I guess not for madeleine. Stick to all purpose flour and as everyone else recommends make sure you really butter and flour the pan. I thought I had done a pretty good job but apparently not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Great! for the person who found this a cake a little dry-- I have found that the darker non-stick molds tend to overcook. make sure your mold is bright aluminum and grease and flour well! alaskababa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKABABA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States