Mad Hatter Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This was a very good salad. The only thing I didn't like about it was adding the seasoning mix of the ramen noodles. Whereas it tasted good with the toppings, there's something about adding that processed season mix to a healthy salad that just doesn't seem right. I'd like to try adding my own seasonings in the future. But everyone liked it, so I have to give it a good rating. The dressing was excellent, but to make it healthier, I cut the sugar in half. I also cut the butter in half when browning the nuts and ramen noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I tried this for the first time to take to Easter dinner. I had to try it the night before because it smelled so good, and I wanted to try it before anyone else. I have read alot of the reviews and alot of other recipes that are similar to this... So this i why I want to put in my review. I didn't use pre-shredded cabbage, just because I needed to make more. So I used about 1/2 small head of red & the same of green cabbage, shredded 2 carrots, then instead of white vinegar 1/2 white and 1/2 balsamic vinegar. I added about 1/2 cup diced red onions because they were already cut. 1 1/2 stalk of celery diced. I remembered all the different recipes so I got home from the grocery store with 1/2 cup sliced almonds and 1/2 cup salted sunflower seeds. I only had 1 oriental, 1 chicken and 1 creamy chicken Ramen. I used the oriental in all the liquid, mixed well and added a little salt and pepper then mixed into veggies. The other two packets I mixed into the ramen, almonds & sunflowers seeds and then sauteed for about 7 minutes in 1/2 cup butter. I had some Bran/Sesame sticks on hand so I topped the salad after ,mixed together and it was the BOMB!! Thank you I will make this again as a MAIN dish with chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Huge hit at a birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
AB so LUTEly delicious. Had no broccoli, used packaged Cole slaw, took pchbloom's suggestion to add mandarin oranges sections to the salad. Just had a bowl full, am about to have some more. Everything works together so well. Thank you for the recipe, Busy Mom of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I just made this salad exactly as written. It is really yummy! This makes a really large salad so be sure to use a big bowl. It would be perfect to take to a party or to a church gathering. Thank you Busy Mom for contributing this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very good! The broccoli is a nice addition to this "coleslaw" type salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I really like this salad a lot. I blanched the broccoli, since I'm not a real fan of the texture of it raw. Added shredded carrot for color, flavor and nutrition. For the dressing I used much less sugar and more soy (didn't measure), black pepper and a touch of cayenne, just my taste. Used less butter to toast the crunchies and it worked fine, I'd say I used about 3 TBS (but I halved the recipe so that was for 1 pkg ramen). My sunflower seeds were already roasted and salted, so I didn't add them to the pan, but simply added them to the salad with the other crunchies. I'd give the salad after my tweaks 5 stars but only 4 here, and that is solely because I don't like the dressing so much as written. This is a lovely salad I'll make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is so good. I take this to family dinners and they eat it up. Even the kids love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rushville, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this yesterday for an outdoor bbq party we held and it was a huge success. I followed the recipe exactly and everyone said it was amazing! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States