Macomb's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Absolutely delicious and soooo easy! My husband, a firefighter, has had many an irish soda bread over the years and rated this one right at the top! I used a 9" cake pan instead of a springform and it came out beautifully! Actual baking time was closer to 50-55 minutes, but otherwise a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
OH MY GOSH! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lamy, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Had this recipe along with Irish Lamb Stew for a group of 20 on St. Patrick's Day. Everyone loved both bread and stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Bleyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I have never had this bread before. I am so glad allrecipes featured it, or I would never have known about it. It was delicious! I made it for St. Patrick's Day along with corned beef and some slaw. Oh my, was it good! The flavor and texture were terrific. My whole family loved it. The bread turned out beautifully. I should have taken a picture and posted it, because it looked like something you would buy from a bakery. It was also very easy to make, so it definitely deserves 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Used this recipe myself Xclnt!Substitute;bananas,blueberry,cherry or apple pie filling instead of raisens. Add chili powder to the apple pie version and wait for the puzzled look on your guests!Try avacado and roast garlic in recipe for a dinner bread. 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daddycakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I was very impressed with how this simple recipe made such a beautiful loaf of bread. I didn't have carraway seeds :/ I think they make a big difference..BUT I HAVE 'em now :)side notes: I prefer light raisins and GO easy very on the salt. ;) HAPPY ST. PAT's bakers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was so very delicious...perhaps the BEST Irish Soda Bread I've eaten. Completely perplexed by comments that it was dry...this was hands-down the softest and moistest Irish Soda Bread I have ever made/eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess of her Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Absolutely amazing. Way more moist than the recipe passed down through my family. And a lot less work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Hands down the best soda bread I've had/made! Moist, flavorful and super easy. Can't wait to toast the leftovers for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Slainte Mhaith One of the best Irish Soda breads I have had the pleasure to eat. The sour cream makes it more moist than others out there. Definitely will be a staple on our table when the occasion arises. These Half-Irish Eyes Are Smilen'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mg5555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States