Mackie's Cream Cheese Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Five stars if you make some changes--Our family has used this basic recipe for years but as many discovered the hard way, not with as much flavoring. Our recipe calls for 1 teaspoon total flavoring for the entire recipe. (I like 1/2 vanilla and 1/2 peppermint--almond is also very good) You also must use paste or gel food coloring or it will get too soft & sticky. The humidity can also effect this. I recommend refrigerating the dough & adding more powdered sugar if this happens. Also, we just roll into balls, dip in sugar & always use rubber molds. If done right, these are the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I had a terribel time with these, were too sticky to work with. I had these small christmas molds to put this mixture in; never worked. I tried freezing them even. Could one make the dough easier to handle by adding more conf, sugar; but how much. Wish someone could give me advice, I still have 2 mixtures of red and green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Veneta, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I have to agree with some of the other postings. Not the greatest substance to have to handle. Also, the lemon and butter flavorings were not a big hit for us. The mint was good, though. I will try a different recipe before this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Well we had high hopes for these with some changes but they just weren't the best. They pretty much tasted like little blobs of flavored frosting, although the peppermint, of course, tasted the most like a mint. Basically we cut the amount of extract in half. There was enough flavoring, but they still just tasted like powdered sugar and cream cheese - frosting! They did set up nicely in the fridge but they were very difficult to work with and there was no way we could have rolled them out! We ended up rolling them into balls and then pushing them a little flat with our fingers. Sad to say, it's not one I would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a really great basic recipe. The 2 lbs. of powdered sugar and 8 oz of cream cheese are perfect proportions. However the food coloring and flavoring is really optional. I used only 1/4 tsp. peppermint extract for the whole recipe. Then I added a whole bottle of red food coloring and extra powdered sugar to make up for the extra liquid. I pinched the dough and rolled it into small balls, dipped them in white sugar then pressed them into candy molds. I left them out to dry for about 6 hours and then refrigerated them. They were a great success at my sister's wedding. She even took a box with her on her honeymoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meganleiann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Made this for my wedding. They were a bit sticky, but I just stuck them in the fridge for about an hour and then it was fine. However, when I added color to them I had a bit more problems with the sticky issue. Taste was great. Thanks Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Way too overpowering! It felt like I was eating toothpaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
These didn't work for me at all. The dough was way too sticky to roll out, so I let it sit overnight and it was STILL too sticky. Also, the flavoring was so strong I had to throw them away. I know this is the recipe I was looking for, I think I just need to add less flavoring and hopefully that will solve the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
They really are good mints. I would just put in a little less of the extracts... especially the mint. It was a little strong for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
The recipe calls for way too much flavoring. Using the 2 teaspoons called for in the recipe is excessive. When I cut the flavoring down to an 1/8 of a teaspoon these were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States