Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I added a teaspoon of almond extract to the egg whites before mixing and only used half the sugar and these were AMAZING! Everyone was singing my praises.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I doubled the recipe and easily made about 40 good-sized macaroons. I found that if I only baked them for 10 minutes instead of 12, they kept their snow-ball white look with golden brown tips. Pretty and tasty! At 12 minutes, you get a browner, chewier macaroon. Still tasty, less snowbally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
These cookies were just what I was looking for in a macaroon recipe, but they were a bit to sweet. I know I will make them again, but with a little less sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
WOW!!! So easy to make, and wonderful. I made these for a Christmas dinner at my Mom's, and had multiple people tell me that they are better than the traditional sticky kind. I ran out and had to make a second batch. Also, you must be making HUGE macaroons to only get a dozen. I got 18-20 making normal size cookies. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Very simple recipe, I used only 2 Tbsp of sugar and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Great easy recipie! I added 3 squares of unsweetened bakers chocolate after I added the sugar..they turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Amazing!! Added 1 tsp of vanilla to the egg whites and didn't have sweetened coconut so I used unsweetened. After the Macaroons cooled, I dipped them in melted semi sweet chocolate!! They look amazing and taste delicious! It's a saver!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Possibly one of the quickest recipes I have ever made. 5 minutes (or less) from cracking the eggs to oven. These were so simple and very good. If you like an airy, sweet macaroon with a sticky tangle of coconut, these are perfect. I baked on parchment for 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
These are very good and very easy starter recipe you can custonize. I intend to try adding walnuts and crystalized ginger. Dried cherries would be great too! This recipe makes a lot more than 12 cookies they puff up a lot, use a small spoon to put on greased cookie sheet. Don't bake for full time without checking, the cookies will look white on top but may be burned on the bottom if you aren't careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
these were really good!! definitely had to make some adjustments though. added about 1/4 cup to the final mixture to thicken it up a little bit. worked like a charm!! i topped them off with a white chocolate glaze and some cran-raisins.. everyone in the office went wild over them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States