Macaroons III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
I changed this receipe just a bit.. I added 2/3 cup of flour (stops the spreading) and altered the extract amount to 1 tsp of Almond extract + 1 1/2 tsp of Vanilla extract. I baked them for 12 minutes at 350F on a non-stick airbake cookie sheet that I sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
We cracked the code -- UNSWEETENED coconut is the key! Our first attempt involved sweetened coconut, which resulted in a delightful macaroon soup. We realize the recipe doesn't call for sweetened coconut, but when you hit the baking aisle of the grocery store, that tends to be the first (and often only!) type you see. So, on to the health food store for unsweetened coconut, and macaroon perfection was soon achieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orrington, Maine, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This has always been a favorite recipe of mine to use every year at Christmas. Over the years of making them I have learned a few things. One thing I recommend is use parchment paper or a silicone mat. I remember these were sticky and a little hard to take off the cookie sheet in years past. Another thing I recommend is once you scoop the "dough" on the mat is to damp your fingers and lightly tap down any of coconut flakes that may be sticking up to prevent burning. These cookies also need to sit awhile before enjoying being that if they don't have time to fully cool, they will fall apart. But nonetheless, great macaroon in my book. Oh, side note: I used Fat free condensed milk this time and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ducky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
These are perfect. They are delicious and simple; moist and chewy. I added almond extract instead of vanilla. Just be VERY careful when removing them from the cookie sheet. DON'T USE YOUR FINGER TO GET IT OFF OF THE SPATULA!!! Remember the warnings about hot caramel??? Well, hot sweetened condensed milk is just as sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I was going to add this recipe myself, seeing as I made it last night, but I found it already on here instead! I used 8 cups of unsweetened coconut, 1 small can of sweetened condensed milk, and two teaspoons of vanilla extract. I had to use my electric mixer to mix everything really well. Simply drop these onto a well greased pan and bake for 8 minutes. They are fragile when they first come out, so be careful when you transfer them on a plate to cool. I love these simple treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
this recipe should me made on parchment paper. no clean up and the macaroons slide right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
These were super easy to make and came out perfect the first time. The flavor was outstanding. I didn't have any problems with running or anything, will be making time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM3BOYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I wasn't at all happy with this recipe. It was no more than a sweet ball of coconut. Also very hard to remove from the pan to a cooling rack without falling apart. Cookie is very light and airy. The edges brown up nice, but tops stayed very white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
I made these for a fast cookie for my children (and because I LOVE coconut). They are a snap to make though they are quite sticky. If not careful they will fall apart when removing from the baking sheets. I think they are better when aged a day or two in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
I make this all the time. With one addition to teaspoons of almond extract. Make these can be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States