Macarons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Not only did they crack and look ugly, they didn't even get the little "footing" at the edges and took waaaaaayyyy longer than 15 minutes to dry. The batter was also very runny, making it difficult to pipe the discs onto the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teanna Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Lynn Smith
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
The Macarons came out perfect! It was my first time making them. I used a silicone baking sheet and increased the baking time to 22 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Lynn Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Easy recipe! Did one batch on silpat - then followed another reviews advice w/ cupcake pan - that didn't work at all!! Paper would not come off and they baked weird! Added orange oil and filled w/ stabilized orange whipped cream awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
well it worked for me! You have to follow the recipe EXACTLY by the instructions or they won't turn out right! Thanks for the recipe, now I can make my own Macarons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was my first time making these, followed the recipe exactly, even bought the macaron silpat with the circles template, and I did not get the frilly feet. My batter seemed loose and watery. I think I may have overbeat the egg whites. I will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I agree that weighing ingredients is much more precise and reliable, but I also know most people will not so i gave measurements. I have definitely ground my almond floor to make it finer with a coffee grinder or food processor. Some of my favorite flavours are a chocolate macaron where i added dutch cocoa powder to the dry mixture and then made a chocolate ganache from Lindt Excellece orange intense chocolate bars. I've also ground up pistachios in my coffee grinder and substituted them for the almond flour. I'm hoping to get some freeze dried raspberries and put them in the cookie part and a chocolate ganache center or a Blackforest using freeze dried cherries. Using freeze dried allows you to add intense flavour without changing the consistancy of the macaron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marissa Oblanca Free
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
The first time I made it, it didn't go too well. The cakes are too small and it didn't cook well at 15 mins. The cake itself was "grainy" due to the almond flour. So I did a 2nd batch, modified the cooking time to 20-25 mins. The resting time to an 30 mins and sifted the confectioner's sugar and flour mix before I folded into the egg whites. And viola! My perfect macarons! Thank you for the great recipe, I will surely be making more of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Love these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bartow, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
what filling is used in the photo? What are other good fillings?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
They never turned out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States