Macaroni with White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
a macaroni and cheese with a meat/tomato filling. Nice for a change. I confess I substituted 1/2 cup tomato sauce instead of the few tbsp of tomato paste the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
This recipe was yummy. I added basil and oregano to the meat mixture, and skipped the oil except for the white sauce. The only drawback is all of the cleanup it creates! I had to use two pots, a pan, and a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Pretty good - almost like a hamburger helper dish, but higher quality and it is not soupy at all. Not gourmet, but a good beef and macaroni dish. A little dry but good flavor. Might want to double the sauce and top with more mozzarella. I will definitely make again when I am in the mood for a beef and noodle dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
We did not like this recipe. It is heavy on the stomach. It make a TON though so be prepared for leftovers. The white sauce was bland and the only flavoring to the whole dish was the tomato paste and pepper. We had to pour on the hot sauce to make it have taste. It requires a lot of dishes and looks like a spaghetti casserole when you are finished. Stick with a meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
We really liked this recipe! Instead of ground beef, I used ground turkey and I used less noodles so that it was really creamy. For a finishing touch, I added a dash of nutmeg to the sauce. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This made a HUGE amount of food-- I couldn't fit all of it into my 9x13 dish, so I ended up doing some of the macaroni w/ the meat mix, and then put some mac w/ sauce in a 7x11 dish and baked them at the same time. That was ok because my daughter isn't wild about beef anyway. I skipped the oil except for the sauce, and to the sauce, I added a chicken bullion cube. With meat and without, this was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Huge hit. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Big hit with me and hubby. Just made a few alterations! I used corn starch instead of flour to thicken the white sauce and also added onion and garlic powder and oregano for the lack in flavor. I added some canned diced tomatoes to the beef mixture. Lastly, rather than mozzarella I used 2C of monteray jack and 2C of extra sharp cheddar (mixed and divided evenly in mixture and on top). These cheeses gave the dish a more distictive flavor rather than the typical mozzarella in a pasta dish. Even great as a leftover...not dry at all like most left over pasta dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
The recipe is ok. I feel like it needs something.....maybe a second type of cheese? Parm, provolone? Its pretty plain tasting, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Klein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hempstead, New York, USA
Living In: Clayton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States