Macaroni and Tuna Fish Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Growing up, my mom made this for us all the time and now I make it for my family. You can add anything you like to this recipe. Sometimes I add celery or chopped green pepper. When my salad is completed I usually serve it on a large bed of lettuce. I slice hard boiled eggs and tomato and place on and around the salad. Makes a pretty presentation for a very simple yet delicious and easy meal. For those of you who like a little zip, have a bottle of hot sauce at the table to sprinkle on the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
Very Good & Very Easy! My whole family loves it! I used the pasta "shells" instead of macaroni.It is good warm or cold! My husband likes it with peas in it too! Definately making this again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I made this for a party and since I'm all about presentation, I made a few modifications. I only used one can of tuna and I used plenty more than 1/4 cup of Miracle Whip. I threw in some thawed frozen peas and shredded sharp cheddar cheese. It looked quite yummy and I had several people comment that it was just like their mom used to make! I didn't really try it since I added those other things. I'll have to make a version again with just the tuna, macaroni, and Miracle Whip for my plain palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIEGRETL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I did change a few things-I added ranch dressing along with mayo. Used red onion and LOTS of garlic. I served this in a hollowed out tomatoe with pumpernickel toasted triangle and with grapes for the grandkids!I am taking this to a potluck in tomatoes and in bowls for the kids. Great reciepe for all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaMaw's Girls

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This simple and easy-to-follow recipe turns out a delicious mac and tuna salad. I added a dash (or two) of red pepper flakes for an extra zing just because I love spicy foods! And it's also perfect for lunch for the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
This recipe is very similar to my own except that instead of onions I use scallions (aka green onions) and I don't add oregano. I like this recipe because is not goopy with mayonnaise, and it's easy to prepare. I used to make a batch of it, and then eat it as a quick meal in my college dormitory. Another variation that I've tried is to add some grated parmesan cheese. A suggestion to facilitate mixing, I usually mix together the tuna, and seasonings (not the mayo) first while the pasta is cooking, this also helps with flavor balancing even though it will be strongly flavored at this point and then mix it together with the pasta and mayonnaise at the end. A slightly more exotic variation is to add a little bit of sesame oil. I liked it but my bf didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Just what we needed today. We're getting close to payday and running out of almost everything so we've got to use what we've got. We did add a little more mayonnaise, I used green onion (four "stalks") and at the request of my son, I added chopped pickles and a little dijon mustard and Frank's Hot Sauce. For us, this did not feed ten. This fed four of us, my husband ate what was left. Very easy, quite budget effective and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Yum! I like things colorful so I used half a diced orange bell pepper and half a diced cucumber instead of onion and added a bit of shredded cheddar cheese. Oh and I used colorful shell pasta. Pretty and tasty! This is a great recipe you can make your own with whatever veggies and spices you enjoy or keep it more basic for the kiddies. Thanks for sharing this! I'll enjoy experimenting with it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was great! I added basil to it as well, and a bit more mayo than was called for. It was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
My family loves creamy tuna fish with onion sanwiches, so I prepare this tuna dish the same way, toss it into the macaroni and add more mayo. I season to taste with the listed ingredients, only eliminating the oregano. We enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States