Macaroni and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Perfect comfort food! I didn't have bacon grease and used fresh tomatoes (with juice)because I had tons of tomatoes from the farmer's market. Also added chopped fresh basil just for fun...YUM. Even my husband liked it (and he hates elbow pasta...go figure). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
My mom made this all the time when I was a kid. Forgot how much I loved it. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Wow I thought we were the only ones who ate this...lol My husband won't even try it...but growing up in PA, my mom would use elbow macaroni, a jar of her home canned tomatoes, little butter, and pepper (salt was already in tomatoes) and I loved it! I make it frequently for myself, however...I never had it with bacon grease in until now...this version is very good...I think bacon flavor makes everything good...but I'll probably stick to my mom's version because I like just the taste of the tomatoes...thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
My Mom made this a lot growing up. When we went to visit in the country she made it with home grown tomatoes. That was the best! We sometimes added ground beef and no, no to sugar or butter. Just the bacon grease, macaroni, one small diced onion, 1 small can tomato sauce, 1 large can whole crushed tomatoes, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I could hardly believe my eyes, that this recipe is on AR. My Mom often made it - her version, now my version (as these things go), was to boil macaroni and add 1 can of condensed tomato soup (soup only, no water). Stir the condensed soup into drained macaroni, add a bit of butter, salt & pepper to taste and enjoy! mmmm, good! Some reviewers talk about adding ground beef, tomatoes and tomato sauce: in our family, that was called goulash and we had it often. My brother and I both now cook goulash with onions and a green pepper (or another color pepper). (Our Dad would not eat onions or peppers -- poor Mom! poor us!) We add canned tomatoes -- brother likes his juicier, so adds tomato juice to it as well. It *is* good. But when I hear folks talk about jazzing up macaroni and tomato soup (or this recipe, macaroni and tomatoes), I just think, Nooooo! :) It is what it is, and it's perfect that way. Thanks for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I have been making something similar for years. I use egg noodles, instead of macaroni, add plain, stewed, or rotel tomatoes. Add the sugar, salt and pepper. That's it... It is more like a noodle soup, but so good. SHM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Forge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This certainly brings back memories. My mom used to make a similar version of this, in fact exactly the same, with one exception - she would add about a cup of Cheez Whiz. Served with a salad, fresh buns and beef sausages - great comfort food in the fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppyluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe. I used rotel tomatoes for extra flavor and also added ground round to make a 1 pot meal. We love this in the fall. A good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I was shocked to see this recipe! I thought only my family ate this. Since my dad wouldn't allow garlic in the house my step-mom came up with this acceptable recipe to satisfy the kids desire for spaghetti. Macaroni with canned tomatoes and tomato juice. I grew up loving this and so did my daughter. We thought it was so weird that we joked that we needed to lock the doors and draw the shades so nobody would know what we were eating! Who knew so many other love it as much as we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I make a variation of this all the time for my family and it is hearty and sits well with everyone. I use 1 pound of ground beef with mine and the various flavors that Hunts' Chopped Tomatoes carries, i.e. Basil, Garlic, & Oregano plus I use 1 can of Tomato Sauce as well. You can add mushrooms if you like and you can add cheese. It is good! We call it homemade "Beef-A-Roni".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Moore LeJeune

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States