Macaroni and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I started out making this when I was really super broke and the only meat I could afford was bacon. It always increases easily with what you have on hand and however many people you have to feed. I make this now for my boys and add in bacon, add a little bit of spice and toss with parmesan cheese. Never fails to get smiles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I'm so glad i discovered this! As a poor college kid, I'm always excited to find cheap, yummy recipes, and this is definitely one of those!! So easy. I used extra butter instead of bacon grease, and added some garlic salt and Parmesan cheese. Will definitely make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This is just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This came out good! I didn't have any bacon (well didnt have time to thaw it) and since this was a quick last minute meal and what we have on hand i added sausage. My kids love it and ate every bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessAjay2
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I decided to look up something to make with ingredients I had on hand, and this is what I chose. It was surprisingly very good! I guess you can't go wrong with macaroni and tomatoes. I did add a pound of ground beef and an extra can of tomato sauce. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Webb-Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I was surprised to see this recipe. My mother use to make this when I was little. It has always been a comfort food to me!! She just used the macaroni and a can of tomatoes.....salt and pepper and you are good to go! Its even great cold....my adult kids make it and take camping as a cold side dish. Now the grand kids even like it. 4 generations!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good recipe! I did a whole tsp of sugar but oh well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAIA1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Easy and filling.used petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed as that is what I had the only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very tasty! whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeybee375

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
THANK YOU for sharing this! I was scrolling through looking for a new macaroni dish when I saw it. This is one of those all time favorites that I grew up with, and now my kids make it for their families. My version is only slightly different. I use the bacon grease & butter to sweat half a diced onion before adding everything together, and I always use petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed. (as a kid I hated all the little bits of celery & stuff in the stewed ones). If using diced instead of stewed...use a pinch more sugar. Thanks again for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States