Macaroni and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I started out making this when I was really super broke and the only meat I could afford was bacon. It always increases easily with what you have on hand and however many people you have to feed. I make this now for my boys and add in bacon, add a little bit of spice and toss with parmesan cheese. Never fails to get smiles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this at my hubby's request. I have not eaten this dish before so I went on his description of how his dad used to make it as to how this was supposed to be. This turned out wonderfully and my husband was well pleased. He said it was exactly like his dad's were except he wanted it soupier, so the next time I will add some tomato juice instead of sauce or maybe in addition to. I didn't have bacon grease, I just doubled the butter. Thanks for sharing this, it brought my hubby some warm fuzzies as he has some great memories of his dad. Plain and simple, this is good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good recipe! I did a whole tsp of sugar but oh well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAIA1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I was surprised to see this recipe. My mother use to make this when I was little. It has always been a comfort food to me!! She just used the macaroni and a can of tomatoes.....salt and pepper and you are good to go! Its even great cold....my adult kids make it and take camping as a cold side dish. Now the grand kids even like it. 4 generations!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
this recipe is my hubbys favorite...I did use 2 cans of rotel tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes to add that extra kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I'm so glad i discovered this! As a poor college kid, I'm always excited to find cheap, yummy recipes, and this is definitely one of those!! So easy. I used extra butter instead of bacon grease, and added some garlic salt and Parmesan cheese. Will definitely make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
THANK YOU for sharing this! I was scrolling through looking for a new macaroni dish when I saw it. This is one of those all time favorites that I grew up with, and now my kids make it for their families. My version is only slightly different. I use the bacon grease & butter to sweat half a diced onion before adding everything together, and I always use petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed. (as a kid I hated all the little bits of celery & stuff in the stewed ones). If using diced instead of stewed...use a pinch more sugar. Thanks again for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Very good and very easy. I save all my bacon grease and I was looking for a nice easy recipe to use some of it up - - this was perfect and easy. Topped with Parm. cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I was shocked to see this recipe! I thought only my family ate this. Since my dad wouldn't allow garlic in the house my step-mom came up with this acceptable recipe to satisfy the kids desire for spaghetti. Macaroni with canned tomatoes and tomato juice. I grew up loving this and so did my daughter. We thought it was so weird that we joked that we needed to lock the doors and draw the shades so nobody would know what we were eating! Who knew so many other love it as much as we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I ate a ton of this growing up! Still love it today. I like it pretty basic.. with no sugar or bacon grease, using canned diced tomatoes instead of stewed, using only butter and seasonings: a dash of garlic salt, creole seasoning, and salt and pepper, if needed. Mama never added tomato sauce way back in the day, but I do like that addition for more body. Soo good with hot cornbread! Great childhood memories associated with this dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States