Macaroni and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Overall, this is basically a healthy recipe. I bumped up fiber by using whole wheat pasta. Its cheap, easy and better for you than many other pasta or rice dishes. Win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
My mom use to make this for us. I love it and miss her version. This is a great recipe. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I ate a ton of this growing up! Still love it today. I like it pretty basic.. with no sugar or bacon grease, using canned diced tomatoes instead of stewed, using only butter and seasonings: a dash of garlic salt, creole seasoning, and salt and pepper, if needed. Mama never added tomato sauce way back in the day, but I do like that addition for more body. Soo good with hot cornbread! Great childhood memories associated with this dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Good. I like to fry up a package of bacon crispy and crumble up and use tomatoe paste small can with 1/2 cup water instead of the tomato sauce and the stewed tomatoes. Also, cut up onion and saute in the bacon grease and add some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I had to make some stewed tomatos as I didn't have any canned but man oh man these were super yum! I left out the bacon grease to accommodate others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was a comfort food for me as a kid too. Very easy, although the bacon grease adds good flavor dont be afraid to leave it and the sugar out if you are cutting fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janeliveng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Very good recipe for Mac 'N Tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Oh how this brings back memories of my childhood! This is a great recipe. True comfort food. It's also great with some browned ground beef added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
My kids would say 5 stars, I say 4 because it is tasty and easy but I like a little more flavor added, but it's always easy to add more flavor and harder to come up with a good base recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
THANK YOU for sharing this! I was scrolling through looking for a new macaroni dish when I saw it. This is one of those all time favorites that I grew up with, and now my kids make it for their families. My version is only slightly different. I use the bacon grease & butter to sweat half a diced onion before adding everything together, and I always use petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed. (as a kid I hated all the little bits of celery & stuff in the stewed ones). If using diced instead of stewed...use a pinch more sugar. Thanks again for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States