Macaroni and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I could hardly believe my eyes, that this recipe is on AR. My Mom often made it - her version, now my version (as these things go), was to boil macaroni and add 1 can of condensed tomato soup (soup only, no water). Stir the condensed soup into drained macaroni, add a bit of butter, salt & pepper to taste and enjoy! mmmm, good! Some reviewers talk about adding ground beef, tomatoes and tomato sauce: in our family, that was called goulash and we had it often. My brother and I both now cook goulash with onions and a green pepper (or another color pepper). (Our Dad would not eat onions or peppers -- poor Mom! poor us!) We add canned tomatoes -- brother likes his juicier, so adds tomato juice to it as well. It *is* good. But when I hear folks talk about jazzing up macaroni and tomato soup (or this recipe, macaroni and tomatoes), I just think, Nooooo! :) It is what it is, and it's perfect that way. Thanks for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I have been making something similar for years. I use egg noodles, instead of macaroni, add plain, stewed, or rotel tomatoes. Add the sugar, salt and pepper. That's it... It is more like a noodle soup, but so good. SHM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Forge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This certainly brings back memories. My mom used to make a similar version of this, in fact exactly the same, with one exception - she would add about a cup of Cheez Whiz. Served with a salad, fresh buns and beef sausages - great comfort food in the fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppyluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe. I used rotel tomatoes for extra flavor and also added ground round to make a 1 pot meal. We love this in the fall. A good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I was shocked to see this recipe! I thought only my family ate this. Since my dad wouldn't allow garlic in the house my step-mom came up with this acceptable recipe to satisfy the kids desire for spaghetti. Macaroni with canned tomatoes and tomato juice. I grew up loving this and so did my daughter. We thought it was so weird that we joked that we needed to lock the doors and draw the shades so nobody would know what we were eating! Who knew so many other love it as much as we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I make a variation of this all the time for my family and it is hearty and sits well with everyone. I use 1 pound of ground beef with mine and the various flavors that Hunts' Chopped Tomatoes carries, i.e. Basil, Garlic, & Oregano plus I use 1 can of Tomato Sauce as well. You can add mushrooms if you like and you can add cheese. It is good! We call it homemade "Beef-A-Roni".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Moore LeJeune

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I make something similar with orzo noodles. I can diced tomatoes, I can tomato juice, 2 cups water, salt pepper and butter , or olive oil. Put it all in a large saucepan, bring to boil, reduce to simmer. Cook for about 30 min, adding more water or tomato juice if it gets a little too dry. Stir every once in a while. When the pasta is done to your liking, it will have increased in volume a lot. Adjust seasoning. Sprinkle with feta cheese, or parmesan if you like. My husband could eat the whole pot by himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryna Anton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I am 64 and have fond memories of my Mother making this when I was a child. Mom just used a can of tomatoes and no tomato sauce, otherwise it is the same. I will be making this soon for my grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Overall, this is basically a healthy recipe. I bumped up fiber by using whole wheat pasta. Its cheap, easy and better for you than many other pasta or rice dishes. Win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
My mom use to make this for us. I love it and miss her version. This is a great recipe. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Siler Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States