Macaroni and Cheese with Sausage, Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I used 1lb summer sausage..cut in half lengthwise. Then I sliced it again in 1/4 pieces.I drained the meat after heating through....I just loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I simply drained the sausage mixture and it was fine. Simple and good. Not meant to be extravagant, just easy and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
My family ate it right up! It was a delicious combination of flavors... my mom called it "coma food" because it was so comforting it put her to sleep :p It was a little greasy, but my family doesn't want any changes to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpswoon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
We are not Mac and Cheese experts by any means. Hubby liked this - I liked the Sausage, Peppers and Onions but that isn't the recipes fault. It was a good recipe to use what I had on hand. It fed everyone and I am glad I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Tried this out for the kids I had over and they scarfed it down like crazy. Mine wasn't greasy as I usually boil and then drain the grease from any meat I cook. I think it would have tasted better with a little spice in it to liven the dish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
To previous poster: instead of frying up the sausage meat on its own, try cutting the sausages into 1/4 in. slices and then frying them. Either way, if you lift them out of the pan with a slotted spoon and let them rest on some paper towel for a few minutes, you should get rid of a lot of the grease. I agree that the loose sausage meat might make the texture a bit strange. I've always used sausage slices and everyone seems to like it, kids and adults alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Honestly, I MUST have done something wrong---the sausage mixture made the macaroni and cheese sort of greasy, so we had a creamy macaroni and cheese mixed with a greasy sausage mixture. Maybe it is just because our tastebuds are not accustomed to the flavor. I felt like I had (wrongly) combined leftovers from 2 different meals - fajita meat combined with macaroni and cheese. I will keep checking the reviews on this because I am curious as to whether I did something wrong or if others agree with me. Sorry, we just did not like it and our kids would not touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This one looked great! It wasn't. It was terribly greasy. I wonder if there might have been a step left out. I did slick cook and drain the sausages before adding them to the pasta. I'm afraid I wouldn't try this one twice. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States