Macaroni and Cheese with Sausage, Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
To previous poster: instead of frying up the sausage meat on its own, try cutting the sausages into 1/4 in. slices and then frying them. Either way, if you lift them out of the pan with a slotted spoon and let them rest on some paper towel for a few minutes, you should get rid of a lot of the grease. I agree that the loose sausage meat might make the texture a bit strange. I've always used sausage slices and everyone seems to like it, kids and adults alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Honestly, I MUST have done something wrong---the sausage mixture made the macaroni and cheese sort of greasy, so we had a creamy macaroni and cheese mixed with a greasy sausage mixture. Maybe it is just because our tastebuds are not accustomed to the flavor. I felt like I had (wrongly) combined leftovers from 2 different meals - fajita meat combined with macaroni and cheese. I will keep checking the reviews on this because I am curious as to whether I did something wrong or if others agree with me. Sorry, we just did not like it and our kids would not touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I used 1lb summer sausage..cut in half lengthwise. Then I sliced it again in 1/4 pieces.I drained the meat after heating through....I just loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This one looked great! It wasn't. It was terribly greasy. I wonder if there might have been a step left out. I did slick cook and drain the sausages before adding them to the pasta. I'm afraid I wouldn't try this one twice. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
My family ate it right up! It was a delicious combination of flavors... my mom called it "coma food" because it was so comforting it put her to sleep :p It was a little greasy, but my family doesn't want any changes to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpswoon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Tried this out for the kids I had over and they scarfed it down like crazy. Mine wasn't greasy as I usually boil and then drain the grease from any meat I cook. I think it would have tasted better with a little spice in it to liven the dish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
We are not Mac and Cheese experts by any means. Hubby liked this - I liked the Sausage, Peppers and Onions but that isn't the recipes fault. It was a good recipe to use what I had on hand. It fed everyone and I am glad I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I simply drained the sausage mixture and it was fine. Simple and good. Not meant to be extravagant, just easy and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States