Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Wow Wow Wow was this ever good! As another person has already said, definitely double the topping. Next time I'll also increase the milk/flour mixture to make it creamier. The cheese was a lot but I wouldn't reduce it at all. I didn't have quite the required amount of Asiago Cheese (about half) and no Vermont cheese. I made up for both with a mixture of other hard cheeses I had on hand. This is THE best Macaroni and cheese I've ever had. Thoroughly enjoyed by all who ate it for dinner this evening. Served it with a simple tomato salad- sliced tomatoes, crumbled Feta cheese and Italian salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
A lot of work and worth every bit of it. I also doubled the topping and added a little butter to the panko crumbs. Had to keep people from trying to get just topping. A great side to a ham dinner if you like to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by captcab

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Made a half recipe as there are only three of us. Did the carmalaized onions in the crock pot so cut down on time to make the dish. It was amazing...will make again as a whole recipe for Easter or when I have a large group. EVERYONE loved it! I did double the topping as suggested and glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This was very tasty! The only problem is that it takes a LOT longer to both prep and cook than stated. I will probably never make this again due to the amount of work and time needed for it, but I WILL definitely make this topping for other Mac n Cheese recipes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
We loved this recipe and the richness the flavours bring. However, I would double the topping recipe and mix it in the macaroni to let the wonderful flavours fill the entire dish. Top with a light dusting of panko crumbs. This recipe far exceeds any restaurant style Mac 'n cheese we've had in a restaurant. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Way too much work for Mac&C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
It was so good, my whole family loved it. It will become a dish we will cook often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Awesome stuff ! It made the whole house smell like heaven ! You could add a little cheese or reduce it..the creamy texture is wonderful. This is a great late night meal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was a great recipe. Little more involved than the usual Mac& Cheese but worth the effort. Flavours are awesome together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is the truth. I have made several dishes from this site. I get the recipes emailed daily. They all are amazing. But I haven't ever taken the time to write a review. But today is a must. I did double the bread crumbs too and used an Italian 4 cheese with sharp cheddar. My boyfriend LOVED it. Said he was full but had to have another bowl. It's a lot of work but worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States