Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
We loved this recipe and the richness the flavours bring. However, I would double the topping recipe and mix it in the macaroni to let the wonderful flavours fill the entire dish. Top with a light dusting of panko crumbs. This recipe far exceeds any restaurant style Mac 'n cheese we've had in a restaurant. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Way too much work for Mac&C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
It was so good, my whole family loved it. It will become a dish we will cook often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Awesome stuff ! It made the whole house smell like heaven ! You could add a little cheese or reduce it..the creamy texture is wonderful. This is a great late night meal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was a great recipe. Little more involved than the usual Mac& Cheese but worth the effort. Flavours are awesome together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is the truth. I have made several dishes from this site. I get the recipes emailed daily. They all are amazing. But I haven't ever taken the time to write a review. But today is a must. I did double the bread crumbs too and used an Italian 4 cheese with sharp cheddar. My boyfriend LOVED it. Said he was full but had to have another bowl. It's a lot of work but worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
It just took too long to prep. Next time I'll make my favorite, Mac and Cheese Henwood Style, and add the onion and bacon topping to it. The Henwood Style recipe is very creamy. A beautiful marriage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene J Never
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This recipe was phenomenal. It tasted amazing but HOLY MOLEY IT'S A PAIN IN THE BUTT. I dirtied almost every utensil and dish that we own. Clean up was a pain. The only reason I won't make it again is because of how long it took to prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
way too much effort and expense for the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
We loved it! Like everyone said, I doubled the topping and I'm glad I did because it's the best part. I didn't have Asiago so I used all cheddar and I also used seasoned bread crumbs and hubs liked it just fine. I also shorted the butter a little here and there, just for health's sake (I know, 'hahaha'). Also, had I read all the comments about it being so time-consuming and messy (uses a lot of dishes) I probably would have passed over this recipe BUT, since it turned out so good, I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Lynn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rixford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States