Macaroni and Cheese Southern Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe because it's an enhanced version of box mac and cheese which has been around for decades! Everybody loves the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bernoullisgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
For those who say a true southern Mac & cheese never comes out of a box, as did I, don't knock it until you try it! I feel like I have finally mastered a wonderful recipe for it but for times when I want something really quick, this was wonderful and truly a "southern" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Came out dry with grease floating on top. Maybe only 30 minutes cook time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joi Johansen
Home Town: Solvang, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was awesome! I made a double batch and froze the rest in individual portions. It heated up well! Next time I'm adding bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I absolutely loved it. It was moist and creamy and didn't dry out. However, the next time I make it I will definitely lessen the butter. Good job Chris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyo63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ccks4ever2000
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Made it tonight for our hunting camp guys! It's is delicious! Very hearty. No changes to the actual recipe are needed in my opinion, unless maybe you're trying to cut fat content...but I suggest giving into the indulgence the way it is-just don't live on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccks4ever2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Townsend, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I made a double batch of this recipe yesterday as part of a southern BBQ themed meal yesterday. It was very easy to put together and cooked up lots of a crusty cheese around the edges and across the top which was wonderful. I would give 5 stars but I found the casserole to be a bit more dense than I would I would have liked. I only used half the butter (which was still a whole stick of butter) and that might be why? One reviewer called it "eggy" and I think that's accurate. I'd try it again but with fewer eggs and possibly more milk. All in all though, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe is exactly the taste I have been looking for! It is perfect and my family loves it! Good job and Thank you! Dawn/PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I tried this recipe today and it came out delicious and perfect. It was very close to tasting like my mother'a. And that's really saying something. I added sour cream to the milk mixture and it was wonderful. I will try this again but add mozzerella and colby jack cheeses. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Starke, Florida, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Used a lot less butter. Adding pasta water to 1/4in over made the dish way too moist. The cheese stayed separated from the pasta. Will definitely try again using less pasta water, and will grate the cheddar and mix throughout before adding milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States