Macaroni and Cheese III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I was looking for a Mac and Cheese recipe without the use of cheese food (Velveeta) and canned soup because no stores sell that here. This was really easy, not too salty (I like that) and quick. The only thing I didn't use was tomatoes out of personal preference. Saw absolutely no reason to make all the changes everyone suggests -- plenty of sauce, came together fine, plenty cheesy. Really good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
DELICIOUS and EASY!! I love that this recipe doesn't use any canned soup--too much sodium! Changes I made: sour cream in place of the yogurt, canned diced tomatos in place of the stewed tomatoes, a little more cheese. This will be our mac and cheese recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Delicious and so FAST and EASY! My kids loved it too. Like some others here, I too added more sharp cheddar. I also used diced canned tomatoes with onion, a tad more yogurt, (great secret ingredient by the way..tangy!) twice as much basil, and 2 minced garlic cloves. I also added some extra shredded cheese on top and put it under the broiler for 3 minutes to brown the top. YUMMY!!! I think next time I'll try it with some browned ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This is the family favorite mac & cheese; my comfort food. Like the addition of yogurt. I don't use butter, use whole wheat macaroni, & no fat yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
very easy to make, although i didn't follow the recipe exactly. I didn't use the tomatoes, nor did i have any celery seed. I added 1/4 cup more yogurt, and about 2-3 tbsp of dijon mustard for a little zip... still came out very well! with just enough sauce for the macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
This was the best macaroni and cheese I've ever had. I didn't have celery seed so left it out but added garlic powder, paprika and chopped onion as per other reviewer's suggestions. The stewed tomatoes and sharp cheddar really gave it that extra kick. My bf hates leftovers but he gobbled them all up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Super yummy, although I did make lots of changes since I didn't have all of the ingredients around. I used half monterey jack cheese and half cheddar, and instead of stewed tomatoes, I used a can of diced tomatoes with minced onions, italian seasoning, garlic powder, and green chilis. It turned out really well. Next time, I do think I'll put the finished product in a baking dish, smother with cheddar cheese, and bake until melted over the top for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I never thought of putting tomatoes into mac and cheese, but loved it. My grandson loves noodles, so I came on line to find a recipe and glad I tried it out. He loved it too. I made a couple changes though because I didn't have some ingredients. I used milk instead of yogurt and sauted some onion and celery in the butter instead of celery seed and basil. I also used fresh cherry tomatoes from the garden. I blanched them first and squeezed out the pulp then threw out the skins. I just guessed on the quantity and it turned out a little runny so I added a small amount of corn starch that I mixed with a touch of milk before adding to the noodle mix. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Great! I used this for a party and it still tasted great without the celery seed because I couldn't find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I took several suggestions from other reviewers and changed/added a few things. I cooked about 3/4 of the recommended macaroni amount. I added about 4 1/2 to 5 cups sharp cheddar, 3/4 cup yogurt, I added diced tomatoes with garlic & basil, I squeezed out most of the liquid as not to make the mac & cheese too runny. I added 4 sm. garlic cloves (If big, I would add 2) I increased the celery seed to a little under 1/4 tsp. I used 1 tsp. basil, and 1 tsp. Italian seasoning. Wow! This way of preparing packs a flavor punch, tasted way better than expected. I wrote down my changes and will make this alot. May have been a little much for my 2 & 4 yr. old though, they're not used to alot of seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castalia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States