Macaroni and Cheese III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I took several suggestions from other reviewers and changed/added a few things. I cooked about 3/4 of the recommended macaroni amount. I added about 4 1/2 to 5 cups sharp cheddar, 3/4 cup yogurt, I added diced tomatoes with garlic & basil, I squeezed out most of the liquid as not to make the mac & cheese too runny. I added 4 sm. garlic cloves (If big, I would add 2) I increased the celery seed to a little under 1/4 tsp. I used 1 tsp. basil, and 1 tsp. Italian seasoning. Wow! This way of preparing packs a flavor punch, tasted way better than expected. I wrote down my changes and will make this alot. May have been a little much for my 2 & 4 yr. old though, they're not used to alot of seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castalia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Omit the tomatoes and be genorous with the cheese. I like to put it in a casserole, top with additional cheese and bake for a few minutes. A family and friend favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe is good but may need more flavor/seasonings. Instead of canned tomatoes, I used 1.5c of peeled, seeded, and diced fresh tomatoes. Also, I didn't have any celery seed but I doubt 1/8t would have had a big impact on flavor. Maybe adding more than one kind of Cheddar or other cheese would have been better. At least it's easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
the cheese never melted completely, and I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Very good. I loved the addition of the celery seed. It gives the mac n cheese a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drjo413

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
How do you spell comfort food? I really enjoyed this and will make it again - I loved the taste of the cheese and the tomatoes together. My mother used to make a mac and cheese with sharp cheddar, so I was trying to duplicate what she used to prepare... Like several of the reviewers, after mixing, I sprinkled cheese on the top and popped it in a casserole under the broiler for a couple of minutes. Most of the reviewers suggestions said to increase the cheese, but adding 3 cups of cheddar cheese between the sauce and topping was still not enough. I would suggest next time trying to decrease the macaroni by half which would make it saucier and bring out the taste of the cheese even more... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This recipe is so easy and it's great except it's not cheesy enough for me. I LOVE my cheese so I would put more shredded Cheddar in and also an option would be to add some Cottage cheese. I added both to my leftovers and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
DELICIOUS and EASY!! I love that this recipe doesn't use any canned soup--too much sodium! Changes I made: sour cream in place of the yogurt, canned diced tomatos in place of the stewed tomatoes, a little more cheese. This will be our mac and cheese recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
It was good even with macaroni from the box a mixed it with ground turkey, layered it with cheese and put it in oven for about 15 minutes and it was delicious. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States