Macaroni and Cheese III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was so good, and so easy. I was a little hesitant about the tomato and spice choices, but it was a perfect harmony and delicious! A hit with the 4 year old too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I followed this recipe to a T and it separated leaving chunks of cheese curds in the sauce. If we are supposed to know we are to make a roux to avoid this problem, why isn't this step part of the recipe? I would have given it a lower rating, but am settling in the middle as the flavors have the potential of being great together if not for the separation problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I really like the simplicity of this recipe, using basic ingredients instead of canned soup for flavor. I fried up some onion, garlic, celery, peas and grated carrot and added it, as well as about 1/4 C flake yeast to the sauce. Delicious with salad and garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made this recipe because I had an all out, sudden, howling need for simple, creamy, fattening, delicious mac n cheese, and I had all these ingredients. This did the trick, except for the creamy part. I had high hopes as I watched yearningly the yougurt, cheese and butter melt into a lovely sauce. But when I tossed it with the pasta, to my despair, it all separated and got ugly. I know, I know, you must make a roux -"chedders lumpy, chedders oily..." We ate it anyway and it was satisfying in a greasy way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemondrop
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was just ok. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. It did come together very quickly and my toddler loved it, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tolleson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This mac & cheese is very good, and I had good feedback from guests at a cookout. I chose the recipe because of its rating and the fact that it does not call for "cheese food" (Velveeta), though I realized that "real" cheese melts just fine but is difficult to spread. So I found this recipe a little tricky. Still delicious and preferable to the fake stuff! I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Shambach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
very easy to make, although i didn't follow the recipe exactly. I didn't use the tomatoes, nor did i have any celery seed. I added 1/4 cup more yogurt, and about 2-3 tbsp of dijon mustard for a little zip... still came out very well! with just enough sauce for the macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Great! I used this for a party and it still tasted great without the celery seed because I couldn't find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I was looking for a Mac and Cheese recipe without the use of cheese food (Velveeta) and canned soup because no stores sell that here. This was really easy, not too salty (I like that) and quick. The only thing I didn't use was tomatoes out of personal preference. Saw absolutely no reason to make all the changes everyone suggests -- plenty of sauce, came together fine, plenty cheesy. Really good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I took several suggestions from other reviewers and changed/added a few things. I cooked about 3/4 of the recommended macaroni amount. I added about 4 1/2 to 5 cups sharp cheddar, 3/4 cup yogurt, I added diced tomatoes with garlic & basil, I squeezed out most of the liquid as not to make the mac & cheese too runny. I added 4 sm. garlic cloves (If big, I would add 2) I increased the celery seed to a little under 1/4 tsp. I used 1 tsp. basil, and 1 tsp. Italian seasoning. Wow! This way of preparing packs a flavor punch, tasted way better than expected. I wrote down my changes and will make this alot. May have been a little much for my 2 & 4 yr. old though, they're not used to alot of seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castalia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States