Macaroni and Cheese III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Good flavor. Didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I eliminated the dried basil and used canned diced tomatoes with basic & oregano. Probably would use a blend of 1/2 mild cheddar and 1/2 sharp cheddar as the texture seemed somewhat grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Easy and tasty. Love that it can all be made on the stovetop. We browned some ground beef with a little onion and garlic, then added the tomatos and let some of the water cook off before adding in the cheese. Also added some torn up fresh spinach. We cooked a full pound of medium seashell pasta, but only used about 2/3 of that, even after increasing the yogurt to 8oz; if we had left the juice from the tomatos it probably would have been closer. Made a very nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
It was okay, but it was kind of bland and there wasn't very cheesy. It was only a little better then a box mix and way more work. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Tasted great but it does taste better after a day or two. I did used more cheese because I didn't want it sitting around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I don't know about this recipe. I made a version of it twice before which was *delicious!* and should I remember or recreate it, I will submit it. AS WRITTEN, however, this is disgusting! In short it is similar to Velveeta+Rotel on pasta. The color is gross and the flavor leaves much to be desired. Its 'sauce' curdles the cheese, making the entire dish a florescent orange goo which tastes like canned tomatoes. If you don't want processed cheese product, do yourself a favor and substitute shredded real cheese in a normal recipe. Tomatoes or any other veggie may be added to another recipe as well. Will NOT make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mell42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe but had a few problems. I used a bit of tomatoe sauce, milk, and extra sour cream (to replace plain yogurt) to try and make a creamier sauce, which failed but gave it a unique flavor (w/seasonings). I'd also suggest using less butter to avoid a strange oiley gritty texture. The end result wasn't exactly what I wanted but people really liked it. Next time though, I'll stick to what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I never thought of putting tomatoes into mac and cheese, but loved it. My grandson loves noodles, so I came on line to find a recipe and glad I tried it out. He loved it too. I made a couple changes though because I didn't have some ingredients. I used milk instead of yogurt and sauted some onion and celery in the butter instead of celery seed and basil. I also used fresh cherry tomatoes from the garden. I blanched them first and squeezed out the pulp then threw out the skins. I just guessed on the quantity and it turned out a little runny so I added a small amount of corn starch that I mixed with a touch of milk before adding to the noodle mix. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was so good, and so easy. I was a little hesitant about the tomato and spice choices, but it was a perfect harmony and delicious! A hit with the 4 year old too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I followed this recipe to a T and it separated leaving chunks of cheese curds in the sauce. If we are supposed to know we are to make a roux to avoid this problem, why isn't this step part of the recipe? I would have given it a lower rating, but am settling in the middle as the flavors have the potential of being great together if not for the separation problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States