Macaroni and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe is easy and better than box mac & cheese. I use cream of mushroom soup insead and mix in quite a bit more grated cheese rather than slices of cheese. I skip the tomato and then bake it with herbed bread crumbs and dots of butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was a good base recipe. Like other users had mentioned, I used 1 can each of cream of chicken and cream of mushroom soup. I also used diced tomatoes in place of the tomato slices. Instead of layering the cheese & tomatoes, I mixed shredded cheddar cheese and the diced tomatoes into the hot macaroni & soup mixture. I also sprinkled breadcrumbs on top. My husband and 3-year-old son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hokiemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I really love this! Of course pasta and cheese IS always a winner! I did alter a bit, in place of two cans of cream of chicken I added a can of cream of cheddar cheese and a can of cream of mushroom. And also instead of the 4 tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes flavored with basil and garlic and mixed it right in the macaroni. Just sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELM82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This isn't bad, it just isn't great. One benefit is that it makes a lot and is good for leftovers. One thing that I did that my husband liked was add breadcrumbs to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Very tasty. Instead of milk, I added Fat Free Half and Half - creamier and thicker than milk. I also used shredded vs. sliced cheddar so that I could top the bake with it to make it golden brown (and add a little extra inside for a cheesier flavor). I also topped with sprinkled bread crumbs and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was really good. I used whole wheat pasta and added garlic powder, onion powder, worcestershire sauce and lots of grated chedder cheese to the cream of chicken. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Penn Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This recipe has become a staple in our household. It's wonderful, and excellent for leftovers too. The tomatoes add a fresh taste to the rest of the flavors. It comes highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This recipe was good for me, because I need to go grocery shopping & I didn't have hardly anything to make dinner out of. It was good for a quick throw together dinner, but I don't think I would make it otherwise--it wasn't quite cheesy enough for me. If I did make it again, I would mix the cheese in, not just layer it on top. I added breadcrumbs (which I did like), and I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so I used drained diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
I had to substitute shredded cheddar for the slices, but it was still a tasty "quickie" solution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I wasn't in love with this. I did stray a little - I substituted one of the cream of chicken soups for a cheddar cheese soup and used shredded cheese in stead of processed since it's what I had. It just wasn't what I was hoping... Not all that cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States