Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2000
My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
I've made this recipe for two different get-togethers and it was well received at both. I do not like salads that are dripping with mayonnaise. The combination of mayo and sour cream makes this much tastier. The green olives also make a great change from a regular macaroni salad. I do have to agree with a previous reviewer that this can't possibly be only 6 servings as I used an 18-cup bowl and it was more than 3/4 full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
At last! I've finally found a recipe for macaroni salad that I love. So did my husband. This has a very good balance of flavors. Thanks, Micky Perry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
i used all of the celery seed called for and loved it. i increased the olives the second time around. i think this tastes best on the second day -- once thoroughly chilled. will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I made this for a cover dish dinner, and it did NOT last. Everyone remarked about the flavor and how creamy it was. It is so good. I did change just a couple of things. One, I left out the onion as neither my husband or myself can eat them..and it was n't missed. Also, instead of using pickle juice and the sweet pickle, I used sweet relish. I did increase the dressing half again, as we do not like a dry macaroni salad, and this did not get dry. I made it the day before, and yes, it tastes better the second day after the ingredients have had a chance to sit and blend. I put the carrots through my food processor and they were perfect for this salad. And one little tip. When using celery seed, rub the seeds between your palms to crush them a little. This releases not only the aroma, but the flavor as well. Oh, and if you are making a dish that requires both onion and celery, cut the celery last, and rub some leaves, or even part of the rib on your hands. It will remove the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
TERRIFIC, EASY recipe. Basic and very TASTY!!!! I used red pepper instead of green bell because it agrees with me more. But everything else A #1. Thanks for having this on the web. I even put tuna in it the second day - and had a whole new dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
This is the best recipe I found for macaroni salad. My hubby even said it's as good as his mother's! :) It makes a lot of food. I used sweet relish instead of pickles & I used pimentos instead of olives...It turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Easy and great-my kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Great recipe Linda! I used salad macaroni, left out the olives and cut the celery seed to 1T. Wonderul! The flavors meld nicely together. Oh yeah...I also used Dijon mustard instead of ground and I chopped rather than grated the carrots. The egg adds a nice flavor as well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
!!!We really love this recipe. It does make a HUGE amount, and the dressing should be at LEAST doubled. We leave out celery and add thawed sweet peas and cheese. Great for cookouts. We've made this many times and will continue to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States