Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I did not like this very much. It seemed to have too much celery taste in it. It needed more sweetness and creaminess. I ended up adding more sour cream and more mayonaise just so I could eat it. I will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
We didn't get too crazy over this Macaroni Salad but I might try again leaving out the olives, using only 2 teaspoons of celery seed and add a little garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I made this for a 4th of July BBQ, it was a hit! Delicious, I would reduce the celery seed to 1T next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer VE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Campbell, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is wonderful! I used it for my church dinner feeding 120 ppl, and everyone raved about it. the only changes i made was doubling the dressing, i used sweet pickle relish & i sprinkled on a lil bit or sugar & bacon bits! also, it makes WAY more that 6 servings. i would estimate at about 15-18 servings per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I was asked to bring macaroni salad for a Mother's Day gathering,and I new my plain old mac.salad would be boring.I searched this site and decided on this one.It was a huge hit! very flavorful,not difficult,besides the chopping, and the sour cream dressing was much better than the ordinary mayo.I'm glad I decided on this one and will continue to make it for all gatherings from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This went great with the ribs I made. I only made half a box of elbow macaroni but used the recipe amounts for everything else. I didn't have any celery, green pepper or olives. So I had to substitute some frozen peas and carrots and added some chopped roasted red peppers and a little garlic powder. It was wonderful. I almost threw some crumbled bacon in too, but didn't feel like cooking any. I will make this again and definitely add the olives some fresh carrots and peas -I love them. The red peppers gave it nice color too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
have made this recipe many times and always get great compliments. i've added other veggies, whatever i have in the fridge and it always gets eaten up fast at getogethers. the sourcream and mayo make a great combination for a creamy salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Popowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Too much celery seed not enough pickle. The pickle was easy to correct but not the celery seed. The amount of dressing seemed fine but we like it a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I used 2 cups raw macaroni (8 ounce). I used 1/2 cup sweet relish, and no chopped pickle. Left every thing else the same,goo stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is good the way it is. I'm looking for something a little different, thought this might be it, but it wasn't. It was a good salad, just thought it was still missing a little something. Will likely try it again and work with it a bit. Maybe a little less mayo or sour cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States